A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Chickens are for Roasting…

5 Comments

I was just thinking that I spent the whole day fantasizing about desert and I forget about dinner.  I am toying with the idea of roasting a chicken. It is a quick and healthy way of getting food on the table. My plan of action is this:

  1. Get myself a roaster, can’t have roasted chicken without the chicken.
  2. Season the body with a little salt and pepper. I also like to detach the skin and add some butter mixed with garlic under the skin.
  3. Season the inside and throw in a few smashed garlics (but I love garlic, so it may be more than a few),  shove some onion in, and maybe some lemon wedges.
  4. Create a mirepoix (fancy French word for onions, carrots, and celery). I like baby carrots, slices of onions, and chopped celery. Lay them down as a bed on your roasting pan (I like to line with aluminum foil if I am using a roasting pan, if I am using a dutch oven then I just pop it in there)
  5. Put the chicken on top of the mirepoix, tie the legs and tuck the wings under and drizzle with olive. Put into a preheated oven 450F (make sure that you have a oven thermometer just to check if your oven is calibrated correctly) and depending on the weight of your chicken, roast for about a 1 hour.  I like to check for doneness (I don’t think doneness is really a word, but it sounded right and you knew what I meant, right?) with a meat thermometer in the leg of the chicken, the breast cooks a lot faster, but will be dry if you overcook the chicken. Let your meat rest before you carve and serve, it will retain the juices better.

I also like Ina’s version, and really you can do whatever you please. Add some other spices, cut down on the butter and oil. It’s your chicken, make of it what you will. If you want to make it more of a meal, go ahead and add some quartered red potatoes and through some salt and pepper on them.

Mmmm…..chicken….

5 thoughts on “Chickens are for Roasting…

  1. Roast chicken is pure comfort food….in fact you must have read my mind earlier….LOL…as I pulled a chicken out of the freezer when I got home from work to thaw and plan on cooking tomorrow night. My kids asked for Thanksgiving dinner…..well, being that I work full-time, they’ll have to get over the turkey and welcome the small fryer instead. But, I will make all the fixins.

  2. Oh that’s funny 🙂

    Yay, Thanks-chicken dinner? Mmm….stuffed chicken. Oh mushrooms sound like a good thing to add into the stuffing. I’m just thinking of doing that myself, except tomorrow is probably corn beef in honor of the whole St. Patrick’s Day, with cabbage, now that sounds good. Oh even better, stuffed cabbage…

  3. Oh yum, I love roast chicken. And its easy, chuck everything in the oven and voila! Rubbing garlic and butter under the skin is so cool, I never heard of that. I’ll try that out if I’m not too lazy. I usually rub with salt and pepper, throw it in the oven and relax for the next 45 minutes or so :p

  4. I make my turkey really similarly. I’ll have to try a chicken soon! Here’s what I did…http://fisilis.wordpress.com/2010/11/24/decisions-decisions/

Leave a Reply

