A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Numbers And The Trouble They Can Cause….

8 Comments

The intention of numbers is to create base/system for measurement, so that we can benchmark things such as time, weight, volume, dimension, you get the point. It really should be a harmless thing, but it tends to affect our decisions and how we view ourselves way more than it should. Well that is my opinion at least.

Society seems to try and dictate our actions, that we should go to college, that we should marry, that we should have children, that we should set a certain job as a goal, that our value should be linked to our finances (like that bad joke, so when are you going to get married, so when are you going to have children, so when are you going to die). And all of it should be done on some sort of time line, assigning each of us implied expectations. Maybe this can be a motivator for some, but it can be devastating for others.

I can recall a sad story of man who had not been keeping track of his age. He went about his life and did what he needed to do. On his birthday his kids threw him a surprise party, he decided to inquire how old he was. They said, “why you’re 80 Dad.” The shock was too much, he had to sit back into his chair. He never really recovered from that shock and began acting like an elderly man, he passed away shortly after that.

By contrast, I have a dear friend whom I lose at chess to. He’s 79 and spry as can be. He recently built a metal shed with help from his neighbors. A few years ago he got his degree from university. The number is irrelevant, his life is full and we chat about various things and speak of the events and what lies ahead. It is never an atmosphere of the end is nigh, more like what have you been up to and what do you think about this. His spirit is one that I admire, always looking forward to life.

From all this I would like to present the notion that no one should dictate our hearts. That we should always be the person that we truly are. That time has no right to take away our vibrant nature, rather we are fooled in to giving it up because that is what society thinks we should do. We are as lovely as we are willing to be. For other inspirational individuals I would like to suggest Advanced Style Blog, these folks are fabulous. Kudos Ari Seth Cohen who goes in search of the chic and mature. Is anybody else with me on this?

8 thoughts on “Numbers And The Trouble They Can Cause….

  1. Well said and well put. At first I thought you were taking the words right out of my parents’ mouths LOL…but you and your friend are so right….my motto is live life to the fullest and always strive for more…then you can’t dwell on what you don’t have rather you can appreciate what you have.

    • Thanks, I have friends of all ages and really it’s the spirit that matters. Even if there are four, five or six decade difference I don’t see it, except for when they speak of things I’ve only seen on TV. But it’s really cool to hear their thoughts.

  2. Very well said Danielle, enjoyed this post very much. Very inspiring and motivating! 🙂

    • Thanks Tien, I was hoping to share what I’ve learned from friends and experiences. I’m always trying to figure out stuff, but that’s what makes up our journey.

  3. Totally, 100% agree (as you can tell by my blog name – LOL)! Thank you for stopping by today and commenting. I am going to look around here as well. Have a blessed week!

  4. My grandfather is 81 & has the spark of a 25 year old. He’s very quick wit and is more hip than most of my friends that are my age (28). You are as old as you feel.

    • He sounds like a really fun guy. It really is about your way of living. If you take care of yourself and don’t let the number stop you, you will be able to have a good quality of life.

Leave a Reply

