A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Trip to a Temple…

4 Comments

I think in this modern age all to frequently we have a tendency to neglect our spirituality. While my background is Christian I do feel that I have learned so many things from other teachings that have helped to round out my view of this world. There are so many wonderful ideas I have gleaned from the Buddhist philosophy and I really do enjoy their temples and architecture. In fact there is a temple a few miles away from my house which I like to visit. It’s so quiet and peaceful. I thought I would  share some pictures of the outside of the actual temple, as respectfully photography is not permitted inside.

If you are ever in Southern California and want to visit the Hsi Lai Temple, it’s really nice and not too crowded…

 

The outer gate which greets its visitors.

 

 

Hanging art object, not quite sure what it is, seemed pretty...

 

Hanging fish art....

 

I'm not even going to guess...but I know it has something to do with dragons...

Hmm....Cart with Army Dude on it....

 

Buddha, he always seems to be smiling, which makes me smile too...

 

 

Buddhist Enlightenment 🙂

 

The Temple...it's a good walk up too...totally worth it...

 

4 thoughts on “Trip to a Temple…

  1. I was raised Christian (I made my sacrements). We didn’t really practice or go to church unless it was Christmas or Easter. In college, I took an Asian philosophy course and I fell in love with so many Eastern ideas. Bhuddism is a fascinating religion. Great picture too!

    • Thanks Mindy. I agree, as a Christian I can appreciate the ideas that Eastern philosophy presents, but since they don’t believe in God I don’t think I can completely subscribe to the belief. But the great thing about Buddhism is that it allows people to pick and choose aspects of the philosophy to better their lives. A lot of religions don’t allow for that. It’s an all or nothing sort of thing.

  2. Nice! I like visiting places like these. The Hsi Lai temple looks very quiet. Temples in Malaysia look the same but they are always so crowded and smoky because of the incense.

    • Thanks Tien, I think it’s more crowded on the weekend. It’s nicer when it’s not crowded, because you can see into LA. And I was lucky because the brown smog was sort of clear for that day too.

Leave a Reply

