A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Losing the Art of Script…

4 Comments

This is sort of an addendum to the previous post, In Search of…A Pen…, in a way. I heard recently that we type and text so much that we cursive and handwriting on paper may be going the way of the dinosaur. This does not make me happy. I know that some things become archaic in nature, but being able to handwrite seems a touch much, does it not? My argument is that we should not just abandon it because we type so much. I like seeing handwritten notes, it’s personal, it makes me think of the person. Maybe they don’t have what we normally would call the best handwriting, but the effort that they put into writing it by hand is nice. It’s a sort of human connection.

Now I am quite guilty of spending too much time in front of a computer, an unfortunate occupational hazard for techies, but I have decided to make more of an effort to spend less time in front of a computer and more time doing human and natural things. In this respect I have got to reshuffle and change a lot of my life. But this project is one worth doing, because in the long run I think I will be happy with the results. So more living less zoning out in front of monitor. Wish me luck friends. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Losing the Art of Script…

  1. What? So, no more posts? We love your posts….creatively written, inspiring and darn right funny some of them. I do agree about the pen though….it does seem to have more thought. And nothing is better than getting a handwritten note. ~Liz

    • I don’t think I am going to give up the blog, I’ve only been doing it for about a month and a half. I am thinking I have got to figure out how to do work that isn’t only on the computer. I spend so much time getting trying to learn as much in programming and software development, that I think I forget what color the sky is. Thanks so much for the compliments too Liz. I’m not a quitter, gosh darn it, I’m sticking with it.

  2. All my stuff is hand written first, then typed. For me its just something I have always been comfortable with. At school I was the last at typing my essays up and at University it was hard for me to get used to typing everything. Hand writing is just something I have always felt good about.Its not better than typing or anything, its just a different way of doing things though. Helps with computer crashes though.

    Even though my writing is…well, my history teacher called it “Chicken scratch”.

    • I like to write things out by hand also. I feel like my thoughts flow freely, and I can see how I was feeling. Once I was writing a short story, and it had four paragraphs on one page, and each paragraph looked a bit different. A friend told me that it looked like four different people wrote each paragraph. So my handwriting changes I guess.

      Sometimes I write at a furious pace and it looks like chicken scratches too. I’m the only one who can read it, and sometimes not even me. In college when my friends borrowed my notes they used to look at me and ask what sandscript language I was using (well maybe not using those words, but they would have to pause and ask what a word was). On the plus side I can read doctor handwriting. I think they suffer the same scribble affliction.

Leave a Reply

