A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Things I Learned When I Was Five….

12 Comments

Haven’t you heard people say all that I needed to learn, I’d learned by the time I was in Kindergarten. I think for the most part that true,  but you know I’ve noticed that some people forget this crucial lessons as adults. What am talking about? Well put aside the fact that some people aren’t good at math or spelling, that happens. I’m talking about basic etiquette, and maybe this is a culture thing, but general things that I have noticed grown folks doing. Maybe they’re forgotten, so just in case you need a refresher course here it is:

  1. DO NOT PICK YOUR NOSE IN PUBLIC: I really don’t care what you do in private, hey that’s your own time. And I get that sometimes you may need to attend to your nose when it’s not convenient, but there are tissues, you could go to a bathroom. And brushing you hand against your nose because it is itchy is not what I am talking about, that’s permissible. But I don’t want to watch as you try and jam you knuckles into your cranium in a desperate attempt to touch your brain. It’s not going to happen. Lastly I know that I said that I don’t care what you do in private, but your car is not considered private. You are in an enclosed glass vehicle, we can see you. No it’s not one of those one way mirror type deals, where you can see out and we can’t see in, again, we can see you. The only exception to that rule is if you tint  your glass so dark we can’t see you, and that’s illegal in California and New York.
  2. DON’T POINT/STARE AT PEOPLE: It’s not nice. Remember that saying, “when you point at someone, three fingers are pointing back at you,”? Well it may be kind of a dumb saying, but really don’t point at people. And in a less literal sense, just don’t make someone feel bad by pointing them out in any sort of fashion, that’s not nice.
  3. REMEMBER TO SAY PLEASE AND THANK YOU. Honestly, it doesn’t take more than a couple of seconds to say it. Time it, “thank you”, there I just did it. It took two seconds to do it and it’s free. It also tells people that you have good manners, that you weren’t raised in a barn (for some reason that saying came to mind). I like to hold the door open for the person behind me, and there have been a few times that the people gave me a dirty look, as if there was something odd about being well mannered (I can only assume that they were raised in a barn). Sometimes they make dumb comments, don’t make a dumb comment, just say thank you. And when you are ordering your food, if you say please you are more likely to receive better service.
  4. DO NOT RUN WITH SCISSORS. I think most of us have this one down. But for some reason I thought of some goofy little girl, maybe her name would be Peggy Sue, high off of a fruit juice box, running around with scissors. I think as little Peggy Sue got older she probably made more bad decisions, she wouldn’t be the gal to bounce your ideas off of for feedback. In a grander sense of the idea, don’t do something stupid that’s going to hurt you. (See how if there is a gray area of doing something stupid that won’t hurt you, I call it the wiggle room for funky choices).
  5. DO UNTO OTHERS AS YOU WOULD HAVE THEM DO UNTO YOU. Or as you were told when you were little, “how would you like it if someone did that to you?” In general, this a good rule to follow, if you don’t like it, odds are someone else isn’t going to like it either.

I am sure there are a ton more that I forgot, but so far that’s my list. Also the nose picking this is what started me off on the idea that what we learned as kids still apply. What’s on your list?

12 thoughts on “Things I Learned When I Was Five….

  1. Wise words.

  2. Ahh this post got me chuckling. And also….a little guilty because I’m guilty at picking my nose in the car *blush* (shhhh….) Oh and don’t forget “Chew with your mouth closed!” 🙂

    • Oh that made me laugh Tien. And yeah, chew with your mouth closed. I had thought of a few more after the fact too. Maybe a follow up post?

  3. Lol so true, I think people are losing the please and thanks yous though!

  4. So true. I thought of this immediately & figured I’d share.
    – an excerpt from the book, All I Really Need To Know I Learned in Kindergarten

    All I really need to know I learned in kindergarten.
    ALL I REALLY NEED TO KNOW about how to live and what to do
    and how to be I learned in kindergarten. Wisdom was not
    at the top of the graduate-school mountain, but there in the
    sandpile at Sunday School. These are the things I learned:

    Share everything.

    Play fair.

    Don’t hit people.

    Put things back where you found them.

    Clean up your own mess.

    Don’t take things that aren’t yours.

    Say you’re sorry when you hurt somebody.

    Wash your hands before you eat.

    Flush.

    Warm cookies and cold milk are good for you.

    Live a balanced life – learn some and think some
    and draw and paint and sing and dance and play
    and work every day some.

    Take a nap every afternoon.

    When you go out into the world, watch out for traffic,
    hold hands, and stick together.

    Be aware of wonder.
    Remember the little seed in the styrofoam cup:
    The roots go down and the plant goes up and nobody
    really knows how or why, but we are all like that.

    Goldfish and hamsters and white mice and even
    the little seed in the Styrofoam cup – they all die.
    So do we.

    And then remember the Dick-and-Jane books
    and the first word you learned – the biggest
    word of all – LOOK.

    Everything you need to know is in there somewhere.
    The Golden Rule and love and basic sanitation.
    Ecology and politics and equality and sane living.

    Take any of those items and extrapolate it into
    sophisticated adult terms and apply it to your
    family life or your work or your government or
    your world and it holds true and clear and firm.
    Think what a better world it would be if
    all – the whole world – had cookies and milk about
    three o’clock every afternoon and then lay down with
    our blankies for a nap. Or if all governments
    had a basic policy to always put thing back where
    they found them and to clean up their own mess.

    And it is still true, no matter how old you
    are – when you go out into the world, it is best
    to hold hands and stick together.

    © Robert Fulghum, 1990.
    Found in Robert Fulghum, All I Really Need To Know I Learned In Kindergarten, Villard Books: New York, 1990, page 6-7.

    • Mindy, this is awesome!
      “Don’t hit people”…. hahahahahaha!
      It’s pretty much common sense eh? Sometimes we adults think too much and forget the basic things that are most important (like this list) 😉
      “When you go out into the world, watch out for traffic,
      hold hands, and stick together.” Everyone now: Awwwww….
      I am so going to reblog this. Thanks for sharing Mindy!

    • Thanks Mindy, that’s a really good list. It totally proves the point that we all get what we really need from a very young age to be good little people. It’s what we do with it that makes us who we are.

  5. As someone working in the field of Early Childhood Education, this girl can truly appreciate this post!!! We start with the Golden Rule even with our 1 & 2 year olds… Treat others the way you want to be treated. All of it is common sense, but sheesh…some people just don’t get it! Great post 🙂

    • It’s sad that we’ve made our lives so complicated that we loose track of what is really important, how we treat others as well as how we treat ourselves. Also, thanks for working int he ECE field. It’s so important that we have great people teaching our little ones how to be good big people. I worked really briefly with children and found it so hard to do work with kids. Mostly because the parents were not really supportive of what needed to be done.

  6. Pingback: Life Lessons Learnt In Kindergarten « TIEN UNSCRIPTED

Leave a Reply

