A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Accents…

10 Comments

There are so many accents in the world, it can be hard to understand each other even if we are speaking the same language. In the U.S. there are many different regions and each one has their own colloquial slant on the English language. I am not sure why they vary so much, maybe it’s because so many different cultures have settled here and those cultures blended with other cultures over and over again. I think in the U.K. they have different types of accents too. There are many different types of Chinese languages too, my Mandarin teacher said that a nonnative speaker could never really speak Mandarin and for a Cantonese speaker it was laughable (which I found rude).

It’s really interesting though, at least I think it is. There are so many Southern accents in the U.S., sometimes it can sound like their singing a song.  It makes me feel like the person speaking is a bit more folksy and brings a type of warmth to them. One well known Texan is Matthew McConaughey, shirtless, butt bongo playing, pot smoking, Matthew McCononaughey. I think he may be, well, he may be a little bit nuts. Just a tad, right?

I miss the girls…don’t you? I also think Matt Damon’s impression was pretty spot on.

In New York’s five boroughs there is a difference in accents in each borough. I have lost most of my NY accent, but I still have problems pronouncing my r’s. It has been brought to my attention that the way I say drawer is funny. One of my favorite almost stereotypical New York accents is Woody Allen’s, it makes me want a bagel and lox (Oh man, now I want a bagel and lox, oh with cream cheese, throw on some capers and maybe some onions) which is to say it is awesomely quintessentially Jewish, LOVE IT.

And I gotta say, even though Christopher Walken is from Queens, no one talks like him. No, seriously, he’s the only one.

I have also heard that Californians don’t have accents, and I kind of think that’s true. But a lot of times we sound like we’re asking a question, when really we are not. That can be confusing if you’re not from here. I couldn’t find a good California clip…so….

FYI – she’s talking too fast and it doesn’t go up and down in range enough to be Valley and I have no idea where she got supremo. Also the chick on Spooks 8 who played Sarah was terrible, listening to her impersonate an East Coast woman was like listening to nails on a chalkboard.

And it’s no surprise that Americans are charmed by other accents. I personally have great affection for the following dwarf.

And yes we love the French accents too. It may be the attitude, you know what I’m talking about, I don’t have to say it, right? But listen to Eric Ripert’s accent against our hometown antihero Tony Bourdain. I love both of them, but they’re accents are so different.

I know that there are tons more, but I’m running out of room here.  This was all in good fun. So hopefully everyone thought it was fun and doesn’t take it too seriously. Tower of Babble people…:D

10 thoughts on “Accents…

  1. Accents are fun, we have a north / south divide in the UK particulary with words like bath and laugh – we southerns pronounce it barrrth, they pronounce it baaaath.

    • Wow, barrrrth. I’m trying to say it my head like that and I don’t think it’s coming out right.

      • As a British Northener I can say the same also applies to the word book. Also even though I don’t think my accent is particulary strong often the first words from other peoples mouths is “you’re from the north aren’t you?”.

        There is alot of British accents and depending on locality lots of those accents are accompanied by different dialects aswell.

      • It is so amazing to me how each accent develops according to region, even more so with dialects. We can be speaking the same language and actually saying two different things, it’s truly amazing that people can communicate at all. I wish I had a greater understanding of such things outside of the U.S., it’s so interesting to me.

  2. I live in CT, USA. It’s in between New York and Boston. 2 very distinct accents make for an interesting mix for most of the locals here!

    • Oh yeah, you’re sandwiched between two strong accents. The folks I’ve met from CT kind of don’t have too strong an accent. Maybe the two cancel each other out?

  3. Like this post! And…oh my god Matthew is super hot okay….!! With his accent and all hehe 😉 I never realised you have so many accents in the US itself. We have Manglish in Malaysia and Singlish in Singapore which pretty much mash up of english and Malay/Hokkien. You are learning Mandarin? Wow, I can’t even speak Mandarin properly and I’m Chinese *blush*. I speak Cantonese though. But when we Malaysian Chinese speak cantonese, we get laughed at by the the native speakers in Hong Kong because we sound “funny”!

    • Yes he is, that’s why he likes to go without his shirt all the time. I’m serious all the time.

      Well I am part Chinese, so I thought I would give Mandarin a go, but girl it’s so hard. And yeah, they laugh at me too…grrr….

  4. Hee hee, I like this post and the many videos to illustrate your point. 🙂 It’s true there are so many different accents, but I didn’t realize there were so many in the UK or even in New York City itself. Keep up the good work!

    • I know, there are so many out there. There’s lots of accents out in Texas too, huh?

      When you’re in New York, there are so many accents, aside from the native New Yorkers, there are so many different ethnicities, it’s pretty cool. I love all the different UK ones too.

Leave a Reply

