A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

12 Steps to Better Mental Health?

11 Comments

Remember how I said I am a make-up addict? Well, I’ve been pondering over it, because if you saw my inventory, you would take pause too. This last resurgence was fueled partly by the deluge of make up information on the web. I started watching make-up videos and their reviews, I read the blogs that reviewed make up, every other TV commercial seems to be for an item I probably have a version of in my possession. Yet I was a gullible sheep just being led by all the crap that I indulged in. So I was thinking maybe there should be a 12 step program for girls who want to come clean/natural, or maybe the gals who it’s become a little ridiculous in the make up department and want to take back their lives. I borrowed the original 12 step program, and tweaked it. There’s a lot of mention of God, I was thinking maybe it’s not that sort of addiction, it’s more of a me and my credit card sort of thing.

  1. We admitted we were powerless when we allow ourselves to be manipulated by cosmetics company—that our shopping had become unmanageable.
  2. Came to believe that a Power greater than our shopping desires could restore us to sanity and alleviate our debt.
  3. Made a decision to put our credit cards back in our wallets and walk away from the lady with 20 lbs of make up caked on.
  4. Made a searching and fearless shopping inventory of our make up stash.
  5. Admitted to ourselves and to our friends that our make up stash has grown to a point that we will never in our lifetime be able to actually use all those products.
  6. Were entirely ready to walk away from that wish list of new products.
  7. Humbly through out that list of products, delete the make up blog bookmarks, and unfollow all those youtube “Make-up Gurus” (and the label gurus for these people is weird to me too, but that’s how they like to call themselves)
  8. Made a list of all the make up we probably won’t need or needs to be thrown away.
  9. Made direct amends to ourselves, by either giving them away, throwing them away or selling them to some other afflicted make up junkie on e-bay.
  10. Continued to go through our stash, because you know it will take more than one go to really part with some of that junk.
  11. Seek some other sort of hobby, something maybe more productive.
  12. Create a small group of products that you will use, use those products up, and only purchase when you have finished the old product.

Now this isn’t meant to make light of anyone with an addiction problem, but really I’ve come to the point where I need to slap myself and say knock it off already girl. So this is sort of my plan. I think I may not sell on ebay, but I think I will cut down on stuff and stop torturing myself with all these Internet cosmetics overloads. I wonder if anyone feels the same way.

11 thoughts on “12 Steps to Better Mental Health?

  1. Thanks for writing this update. I think #4 and #12 are really important in making more clear and conscious makeup purchases.

  2. It’s so easy to get out of control, I’m the same with CDs and DVDs and I’m running out of room! Just say no :)Unless you really need it …..

    • Oh no, I guess we all have our vices. I have a huge CD and biggish DVD collection. But I download all my music and movies/TV now. It’s just cheaper and I can find stuff easily. Not to mention, it was getting a little crowded in there too.

  3. It’s so hard to control!

    • I think it’s so hard because it’s emotional. No one goes crazy over the staples, like milk or bread or that kind of stuff. I think we buy make-up and it makes us feel happy inside, or at least it does me. Like I’ve treated myself. Then I go overboard on the treats and it becomes an issue of sorts. So I gotta control it.

  4. UGH! I had a recent attack. I went on my favorite youtube makeup tuturials and ended up buying a toooon of makeup. Embarassing even. I realized my trigger. Rite-Aid has these 75% off sales in their cosmetic section all the time. That’s when I end up going crazy. Ulta is a death trap that is literally 3 minutes away from my house. I avoid Sephora at all costs. Sales are my problem.

    • (tutorials) spelling errors drive me nuts

    • Me too, like this week is the Bobbi Brown Friends and Family and I am having such a panic attack. Combined with DIscovercard’s 5% back at Department stores, this is hard. OMG 75% it’s like they’re giving it away. I try to stay out of the cosmetics aisle at Target, but it’s so pretty and well lit that I’m drawn to it like some kind of cosmetics junkie bug.

  5. Pingback: My Naughty Little Ways… « A Happy Peach

Leave a Reply

