A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

The Importance of Being Creative…

12 Comments

This is a personal post which I hope may be of some help to people who are reflecting on their life choices. Right now I am trying to figure out the next chapter in my life. As part of this transitional phase, I have been doing a personal audit of myself. During such an audit I tend to think of what I’ve done (ability, experiences, skills, etc.) and what the outcomes were (good, bad or indifferent). From there I try to figure out what made me happy/feel good/were positive experiences and/or what was missing. I could make the sweeping statement that I’ve never been truly happy, but I don’t know if that would be accurate. I think a more correct statement is that I am looking to find a way of living that is fulfilling (for me) and I think that will lead to contentment and overall happiness. Initially, what I found somewhat startling after my assessment is how much I have tried to conform, how much effort I have made to take my curvy little body and shove it into a rigid cold box. Maybe it shouldn’t be so startling, because it is expected that we conform to regulations in order to fit in to society (not that creativity equals anarchy), but it made me sad. Sad to think that the thing missing from my life, the thing I decided to sacrifice in order to conform, is true creativity. Sad, because it felt like the thing missing from my life was me.

Then I thought, was this concept correct? Did I really sacrifice creativity? And if so how did it happen? In general everyday business requires routine, that the machine moves along the same way every day it operates, the process itself is important. I learned that lesson early on from work and business school. I understand its need, and to that end I deliver my work steadily with a consistent work ethic/routine, often times putting the needs of the company ahead of my own. I was the gal you could count on, but where I shined was problem resolution. And then I realized that maybe I had not sacrificed my creativity entirely but utilized it in another manner. You see problems do tend to crop up and as a manager you need to resolve them and to your customer’s satisfaction.  The best way to do that is to think creatively, creative problem solving helps you find a new way to fix a problem. The first step is to see your problems/issues as challenges and an opportunity for improvement and change. By doing that you see the full potential and can find a way, if not a series of alternatives, to move forward and resolve the conflict(s).

Now, I sit here and have been tackling my future as a issue which needs to be resolved. It’s easy to think in terms of negatives (the economy, various barriers to entry, time frames, and other prejudices which may be held). Over the weekend I had been wrestling with those loud little evil voices, but I’ve strengthened my resolved and slapped myself around a bit to come to the following conclusion:

Now is the time to be creative and forge a new path.




I realized that I had spent so much time building limitations that I became blind to the potential wonderful experiences that life holds for each of us. More to the point I am still evolving as a person and need to allow creativity to be part of my development. I decided my first step is to tear down the prison walls of limitations that I have built and begin to permit myself to live a creative and full life. It may sound odd that I have to start by giving myself permission to be creative, but think about it, most of us spend our adult lives building fences of restriction.  When you compare the way you treated yourself as a child as opposed to how you restrict yourself as an adult, we don’t allow ourselves enough time to play, to enjoy ourselves. We’re so busy planning out our lives that we can forget to live our lives. All to often we lose the spirit of creative freedom. Is it because we are afraid of being creative?





I know that there are a lot of little issues that I need to figure out and realistically isn’t that a big part of life, but I think overcoming the fear of being creative is a good first step. The next step is the pursuit of creativity, if it can be pursued. Or maybe the answer is as easy as just be creative.

12 thoughts on “The Importance of Being Creative…

  1. Good thoughts – taking that creative path is important I think, good luck with it! and hey your blog is creative, don’t forget that đŸ™‚

    • Thanks Vix, I think it’s a good path for me to follow. I think the blog is a nice form of creativity. But I’ve been realizing I can take more creative steps in my life.

  2. Creativity, what would we be without it?

  3. Vixter is right, this blog is definitely a creative outlet. You are writing and expressing your thoughts. I understand where you are at though.

    In college, I was an economics major. I was always interested in art, and always felt I had a knack for it. I took one art course to break up my schedule, and the next semester, I became an art major. I changed my career path. I knew that a finance/economics degree would lead to more money, but I didn’t want work to feel like work. I wasn’t passionate about it. My family was upset at first. But it was a lifestyle choice. I love my job. I feel like it’s not really work.

    I’m not suggesting you quit your job or change career paths, it can be as simple as taking up a creative hobby.

    • Thanks for sharing your story Mindy. I have been contemplating creativity and it’s role in my life for a while. I think this blog has been a helpful way of integrating more creativity in my life, and I’ve enjoyed that a lot.

  4. Hey being creative is not only awesome but it keeps us young, keeps us thinking, and makes us different. People like creativity and crave creativity. Think about it, if we didn’t have creativity in the world, we wouldn’t have many things (electronics, cars, toys etc). Someone had to have a “creative” mind to “CREATE” and invent the things we use everyday. Love this post, as usual. ~Liz

    • Thanks Liz, you are so right. Creativity has given us some great things and I think it helps with our mental health too. After I wrote this post I kept thinking about all the small things that I do that has elements of creativity. I think it’s not just art as we traditionally think of it, but we be as creative as we want in our everyday lives. It’s given me a broader perspective on creativity.

      • I agree. I use my creativity everyday in the kitchen. Even though at times I wish my mind would just fall asleep so I can wake up refreshed, I can’t help myself. LOL! But come on….how else am I going to create the perfect dessert, right? ~Liz

      • I think that’s how all artists are, they are driven to create, just remember to take catnaps…and I want to say, stay hydrated, but not sure why.

  5. Pingback: Happy Easter « cookiebytes

  6. Pingback: Taking Stock… « A Happy Peach

Leave a Reply

