A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Happy Earth Day!!!!

6 Comments

In addition to Jazz Appreciation month April has the distinction of also being Earth Month, but Earth Day falls on April 22nd. The first Earth Day, according to Wikipedia was back in 1970, before a lot of us were born. I think it’s best efforts are to inspire and enlighten citizens of the need to care for our planet. It sounds like a bunch of tree hugging malarkey, but take out the eco-pirate agenda and it does make sense. It makes sense to be aware of what you consume, how you consume it, and what how it affects the world we live on. I think that is a simple way of looking at it.

What I really wonder is how much has the world changed since 1970? In the 60s, and this is all info I gathered from movies and people I’ve talked with, people were becoming aware of the environment. I actually think it was more of the younger generation that were becoming more aware of the ecology. From my perspective there was the Hippie movement, with many crunchy individuals made the effort to make environmentally aware decisions. I think a lot of them were vegetarians, they rallied against the establishment and tried to use more natural products. But in came the 80s and the me way of thinking was dominant. People started to become more obsessed with possessions, luxury and wealth. Acquisition of products became the main goal, with little regard for the environment. Then the 90s rolled in, and there was the grunge sort of hippie anti-establishment movement, we began to recycle, but we also saw continued people continuing their materialism. And our cars got bigger, everyone wanted an SUV. Turn of the century (heck of he millennium) and green started to go mainstream. Governments supporting hybrid cars, but we’re still fighting over oil and I doubt OPEC is going to go down without a fight. We continue to recycle, but still we bought a lot of junk (man that’s when I started buying so much garbage). And then the economy took a real dip, so we had to cut back drastically. But now that the economy is healing we are starting to buy again. I don’t know what to say about that.

I think we all want to live on a healthy Earth, so for my part I am revisiting the green principles:

  1. Recycle
  2. Reuse
  3. Reduce

I know that I don’t do enough. I do recycle, but I have not been good at reuse and reduce. I am trying to reduce my consumption, but it’s a hard habit to break. And I try to reuse stuff, and the stuff that I don’t need or want I give away so someone else can use it, but I am not good at upcycling. I start saving older clothing thinking I can repurpose it, but never get around to actually doing it, I then give put the item in the give away bag.

My friends, what do you do to be Green? I think Kermit was right it’s not easy being green.

6 thoughts on “Happy Earth Day!!!!

  1. Happy Earth Day! I def need to do more, I recycle and that’s about it. Well done for raising awareness!

  2. Yay! Happy Earth Day! I like that you made a post to commemorate Earth Day and the video. Kermit makes anything better.

    In terms of recycling, reusing, and reducing, it’s often hard to just do #1. I think things like reusing plastic shopping bags could go under reusing and having a reusable water bottle or thermos could also go a long way in reducing. Keep up the good work! 🙂

    • Yay for the yay :D. Kermit does make everything better doesn’t he.

      I know, it’s easy to recycle at home because we’ve got those bins, but when you’re out and about the recycle bins are harder to locate so I end up leaving it in my car. My car can look like a recycling plant sometimes. I try to be good about it though, I’d like to be better about the reduce and reuse part too. All things in time, right?

  3. I started recycling more and more since moving to NZ. Peer pressure does wonders. Since everyone is doing it, I want to do it too 😉 But that’s about it for me really.

    • But this is good peer pressure. It’s a decent habit to have. Just don’t let the ecopirates get you. You know those crazed folks who take it to the extreme. For me they can be scary.

Leave a Reply

