A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

I Want to Ride My Bicycle…

4 Comments

Lately I’ve been hearing that old Queen song about the bicycle in my head. What, you don’t hear random songs in your head from time to time too? In case you’re not to familiar with the song, here it is.

Now mind you, I don’t actually have a bicycle, but if I did I think it would look a little something like this.

The Peach Schwinn Cruiser I would have....

There is a reason for all this bicycle dreaming and it seems to happen at least twice a year. Specifically when my car insurance payment is due. It’s not a really high payment, but shelling out money for something that may but hopefully won’t happen can be a bit of a sore spot.  I only wish not owning a car seemed like a viable thing in Southern California. But I don’t think it’s realistic. Everywhere you need to go is at least a few miles away and you more than likely won’t have the time to walk, nor would you want to take public transportation.  I honestly don’t think I would know where to start if I needed to take a bus or a train. The people I know who use public transportation complain about the traveling environment, costs, and hassle of figuring out the schedule. It just seems easier to skip it for the time being. The bicycle plan gets the kibosh because of safety. I just picture me on  bike with a little ping-pong helmet looking like easy prey for some bus. I used to ride a bike as a kid, and it was fun. But I can’t picture myself as an adult doing it here.

Which brings me to another day-dream. I think I would like to move, but I don’t know where. I keep adding pieces of what I would like my new life to have. Being able to ride a bike and use public transportation is part of the puzzle, and I doubt that I would give up owning a car entirely. Of course affordable real estate is another, as well as safety and conveniences I have become accustomed to. I think this is going to take a while to figure out.

Any suggestions?

4 thoughts on “I Want to Ride My Bicycle…

  1. I haven’t been on a bike for years 🙂 must be annoying having to drive everywhere but public transport is over rated, I have to use it for work and I hate it, would much rather drive!! Usually cities are where people usebikes the most, not sure if you live in one or not though!

    • I live in the LA area. You know that song, No body walks in LA. It’s sort of true. We all drive. We spend hours on the freeways. For some reason I think of rural areas as being more bike friendly. Like Portland is a big bike area, and the beach has a lot of bike users. But those are for fun, not so much transportation.

  2. I love bike riding. I haven’t done it in like 2 years after my break up with spinning hahah! Seriously.
    xo
    Mindy

    • I know, it’s fun isn’t it? I had a couple of exercise bikes and that was alright (I mean I could work out after work and it was a great stress reliever), but I missed going somewhere part. I think I became paranoid after working at the DA’s office, like anything could come out and be dangerous.

Leave a Reply

