A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Haircut Horror Stories…

12 Comments

As a child I had always kept my hair long. It was  an extremely blunt cut, just straight across. Really simple, something you can’t screw up. This led me to believe, quite falsely, that my hair was fool proof. As a young woman I got into the idea of screwing with the formula. First I tried to color it with a kit, I used this cherry cola color and it looked really cool. However it felt dry compared to the usual silky texture so that put an end to my dying desires.

My next step was to try various hair cuts, these hair cuts seemed like a series of disasters. Few and far between were the excellent haircuts, and when I did find a great stylist they often moved and I had to start over. I have learned a lot from my experiences and have compiled the following list so that you may benefit from my disasters:

  1. Make sure to think about when you schedule your cut. It may take longer than an hour. So you want to make sure that it’s not to close to lunch or to closing, this may make them rush through your cut.  Now a good place will never rush through a haircut, but if you are new and are unsure it’s a good rule to start with. I made the mistake of being a walk-in with an hour till lunch. I have a lot of hair and the cut she was supposed to do (the Asian Mullet :)) required a lot work texturizing after about 40 minutes she had finished one side. Then fueled by what I assume was hunger she decided to give the other side a blunt cut. I essentially had two different haircuts at once. It was terrible.
  2. Why didn’t I say anything? This brings me to my second point, it is important that you be able to communicate with your stylist. The lady did not speak English too well. But problems communicating can also occur when you speak the same language. You know what I’m talking about, it happens in everyday life, two people having what seems to be one conversation with each person talking about two different things. It’s hysterical if you are just listening as a third-party, but awful for haircuts.
  3. Which is why you should learn their terms, like texturizing, side swept bangs, shag, bob, layers, disconnected layers, blunt cut and so on. Knowing their special little language of hair can help you get to the hairstyle you desire.
  4. Keep the dialog open, if you see something you have questions about ask. If he or she is cutting in a way you don’t understand, say something. But say it nicely, remember they are holding extremely sharp shears/razors/scissors by your head.
  5. Bring pictures, even if you describe what you want, you may end up with something different. Pictures help to establish a visual common understanding of what you cut will look like. If there are issues you could always go back (although I did bring pictures but I think it was a matter of work ethic).
  6. Get a recommendation. Ask around, see people who are happy and ask how their experience was. You want someone you feel comfortable with and it’s also nice to see their work before hand.
  7. If you don’t like it, go back. Normally a good salon wants to make you happy and will try to fix a bad haircut. Remember they want you to come back. Last year the gal I normally see was busy so I took a spot with another girl who had a lot of experience. I was really unhappy with the cut, and when I mentioned it her response (with a smirk) was, “well you’re stuck with it now.” Not good customer service. I had wanted to color my hair (first time in a long time), so when I went back to my normal gal and she fixed the cut and did a great job with the color.
  8. When you find someone you really like try to get their number, because when they’re gone they’re gone.

You do take a risk every time you sit in someone’s chair, but having a game plan helps. I also think it’s worth it to find someone good. Maybe go with the less adventurous cut the first time and work up to that crazy chop it all off look when you become more confident in their skills. I know it’s only hair and it will grow back, but I also know it takes a while and our hair is our crown and glory. So try to take care of it by finding the right person. I also think it’s OK to splurge a bit on the cut, after all you will be wearing this for a few months ever day. But don’t judge someone’s talent on the price tag alone. Tip well if you can, I don’t think a hairdresser’s career is too long, a lot of them end up with hand health issues. In the end you will find someone who you trust and understands your hair needs.

12 thoughts on “Haircut Horror Stories…

  1. Haha great! I’m so glad my mum is a hairdresser 🙂 I’ve had every cut, style and colour you can imsgaine though!

    • You are one lucky little girl. To have a hairdresser that loves you and really cares about how you look. I guess there could be bad sides to it, but if she’s good then not too many.

  2. I’m a little embarrassed by how much I pay. I keep trying to justify it, but it’s getting harder and harder in this economy.
    That hairdresser that gave you a bad cut was a b*tch. Karma, baby. I hope it bites her in the ass.

    • I don’t think you should be embarrassed as long as you can afford it. I think it’s true, that you will be wearing the same cut for three or four months, it’s one of the first things people see and a huge part of your appearance. It’s an investment. Think of how much we can spend on clothes and make-up. I think a good haircut is really important, plus it can really help with your self image. I know it’s superficial to say, but a bad haircut can make me feel awful and a great one fantastic.
      I know, the first one was so awful, I felt like two-face, but with hair. I just think she thought she spent enough time on me and didn’t care what happened. A coworker asked what I was going for, showed her the picture and she said, do you think that’s the haircut you got? She wasn’t a very nice person in retrospect. And I think the second one who said I was stuck with it really just wasn’t very good both with haircuts and customer service. I don’t even think she thought it was rude or disparaging. Yup they probably don’t have great karma.

  3. Nice post! When I was a kid, my mom forbade me and my sister to keep long hair. Once it gets to shoulder length, off we went to the barber to snip it short. No matter how we begged she won;t let us keep it long. I guess she was just lazy to tie our hair up for school haha. I think my first time keeping long hair was when I was 13yo.
    I always have the problem where I talk to the hairstylist, she nods and in the end I walk out of the salon unhappy because it’s not the look I wanted. Somehow, I find it hard to open my mouth and question when they are in the middle of the cutting process, I feel like “Oh, they know what they are doing, you dont need to question…” Sighs. If I want a cut nowadays, I always google the style and bring it along! That works really well 🙂

    • Thanks for sharing your story Tien. How funny, my parents said wanted me to keep my hair long and in a braid or a pony tail. I am not sure why exactly.
      I know it can be hard to stop them in the middle, but if it looks like they are going in the wrong direction I will say something. A better stylist will ask you questions as they go along. I have a good place right now, so I am really happy with it. It took a while to find it, the owners are super awesome, best customer service. It’s an Aveda salon, but their prices aren’t so bad. If you are ever in town, I’m taking you there 😀

  4. I’ve been going to the same hairdresser for 18 years–and I drive 85 miles each way to see him. I even have a special page for him on my own blog!

    • Now that is commitment. But it’s one of our important relationships that people probably don’t think about. I’m glad you found a good stylist 😀

  5. haha nice post! I have always been the long hair girl. its a family thing. my uncles and aunts and mother n even neighbors (weird) are so emotional for my long hair thing. The moment i say im going for hair trimming…my uncle’s ultimatum is “Don’t come back with shorter hair. If u cut ur hair much, Don’t bother coming home at all. LOL.

    But really, I love long keeping long hair. It’s a woman thing I feel. The longer hair the more beautiful she is , the phrase goes sumthing like this in our culture.

    • There is something to long hair and being a woman, I totally agree on that. But there is also something liberating about chopping it all off. I normally donate it when I do it (they make wigs for girls/women with have lost their hair).

  6. btw, how long r ur hair, girl?

Leave a Reply

