A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Sustainable Living…

4 Comments

As I have professed I am quite enamored with the idea of growing my own produce.  It’s been a bit of a daydream for me. On one hand I think that it is such a noble pursuit, to earnestly plow the land and grow natural products whereas on the other hand it seems out of reach from the urban world that I know (and my less than green thumb, I think I may have a pink and white gingham thumb).

My daydream of an urban homestead is fueled by the story of the Dervaes family and their inspiring way that they are making it work.

I think that their way of living is interesting. I think it’s a commitment, but I think the way that they did it, little by little, was really cool. For myself, I don’t think I would go completely off the grid, but I do think I would like to take back a little of my independence. To be able to have your own green house with veggies really appeals to me.

4 thoughts on “Sustainable Living…

  1. Good luck with it, maybe start with a veggie patch!

  2. Last year we grew squash. I cost more to water them than we would have spent buying squash at the store. But I still dream of having a garden.

    • You’ve got a good point. But the water and maintenance is something to consider. I dream of a greenhouse, one day Lucy, one day.

Leave a Reply

