A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

What Would You Do…

4 Comments

What would you do if it was your last day on Earth? Now, my own personal thinking is every time I hear someone predicting the end time or this rapture thing I am inclined to dismiss it. A friend had mentioned it earlier this week and the news on TV had mentioned it a few times. And while I did dismiss it, it got me thinking about what I would do if it did happen. I thought what would I do if I knew there was no tomorrow, if I knew that whatever I did today I wouldn’t theoretically need to worry about it tomorrow.

My initial idea was that I would take whatever time there was left and just travel, first class, and go nuts with my credit card. It was Monday, and the rapture had been scheduled for Saturday (my question is Saturday in what time zone). My thoughts rambled as I imagined all the useless junk that I would acquire, then I realized I wouldn’t have much time to enjoy it. I also thought that while I like to travel I would also feel in a rush to go everywhere and inevitably get home. Because when it came down to it I would want to be with my family. I would want my last day to be spent with the people who I love, enjoying their company, being happy with them. We’d do something simple most likely. We’d eat well, watch a movie, chat and laugh. Then a smile came across my face as I realized that’s the life that I lead, that I spend my precious time with my family doing small things and enjoying each others company. I wouldn’t want to know that the end was coming, I’d rather it just came and went. It would be just one more thing to stress out about.

Even though it was born out of an end time prediction I realized that I am happy with my life. It made me that much more grateful for my family and the life that I have been able to lead. I think you should try to live each day as if it were your last. Love your loved ones, treasure what you have, remember your principles and travel when you can. I think if you do these things, you won’t have a life of regret. Each day is an opportunity, another chance for life.

I ask the question again, what would you do on your last day?

4 thoughts on “What Would You Do…

  1. This is a pretty deep question. I’ve been thinking about this too. I’d be sure to tell everyone I love how much they mean to me. I sometimes take tomorrow for granted and GOD forbid anything were to ever happen to somebody I love, I don’t ever want to feel like I never told them how important they are to my life. I’d spend time with my family.

    • I know, it’s one of those questions that makes you think about what is important to you and what you’ve been doing with your life. I think because it then puts a firm limit on your time on Earth. We both became sentimental, huh Mindy? I think your loved ones know how much you love them, you seem like the kind of girl who expresses in action very well. But sometimes saying it just makes it that much more clear and special. Makes me want to hug my Mom.

  2. I really do want to say something profound here but really, I’d just do all the things I have ever wanted to do or never had the guts to do.

    Deep…Ish…Not really.

    • I think your answer has a deepness to it. We all have stuff that we want to do but didn’t for some reason or another. I know I’ve come up with a lot of reasons not to do something. I think they’re really just my excuses and I need to just get over myself and decide to do it. Hmmm….you’ve got me thinking my friend…impetus….

Leave a Reply

