A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Memorial Day….

6 Comments

I think Memorial Day may just be a U.S. holiday. This year it falls on Monday, May 30th. In addition to commemorating those who have died while in service to our country, we also think of it as the start of summer. We celebrate the more superficial part of the holiday by doing the following:

  1. Put out the flag in the morning.
  2. Drag out the grill…gotta clean that bad boy off as it has been a few months.
  3. Grilling some sort of meat products (ribs, steak, burgers, hot dogs, sausages, chicken, etc.) and possibly some sort of veg (corn, zucchini, peppers, etc.).
  4. Soda and Beer must be served, I’m going with Dr. Pepper with a Corona chaser (don’t forget the lime, very important).
  5. Add friends and family and enjoy.
  6. Bring Old Glory back in before sunset.

I think that is pretty much the model of most people’s Memorial Day. If you walk outside by evening you can smell all the meat cooking. It smells so good!!!

6 thoughts on “Memorial Day….

  1. Oh nice, you have a long weekend! I am a BIG fan of grilled meat too *grins*

    • I heart grilled meat, which I know is not good for you, but it’s so yummy. Yup, I hope it will be a nice long weekend for all and no one stresses out. Some folks can get pretty weird at their respective BBQs, the day after a long weekend is always rough for law enforcement.

  2. Have a great day! And I like the new look blog 🙂

    • It will be a fun day of food, although I think all days should be a fun day of foods. Thanks, I was trying to mix up the look for the blog.

  3. Happy Memorial Day, Peach! I’ve still got to purchase my meat, but you can bet it’ll be grilled tomorrow. Going to watch some fireworks in the evening too. Have a spectacular holiday.

    • I hear you girl. Grilled meat and some fireworks, sounds like the perfect summer day. I’m about to get to making some pasta salad. Sounds like a picnic. I hope you have a fabulous holiday too!!!!

Leave a Reply

