A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Internet Tinkering…

8 Comments

I don’t know if anyone else thinks in this way, but there are so many different toys to play with on the internet. I was sitting here thinking of all the different things that we can do online and for free. Just thinking about the variety and quantity can be a little bit overwhelming. Not all of it is that great, but some of it is worth giving it a go. I thought I would give you a list of some of the items that I have used or have some interest in, maybe you will find it helpful:

  • Blogging sites – OK, so there is WordPress, and it’s pretty functional, but it’s just one of many.
    1. Blogger – you have to set up a Google account, and then Google has you, you’re part of their sect. It’s an alright service, I tried it for a bit, but it isn’t necessarily my favorite. You can delete your own comment, which is good for those of us with foot in mouth syndrome. That’s a big benefit over WordPress. A lot of the other options are the same.
    2. Tumblr – I was just tinkering with this service, and it seems simpler than WordPress and Blogger, but maybe it’s less stressful. I am not sure though…
    3. Blog.com – I haven’t signed up for this one, but may just to see how it stacks up against the others.
  • OpenOffice – So you want to create, open and edit documents, spreadsheets, presentations, drawings, databases and formula files. But you don’t want to pay for Microsoft word or iWork. You have options, the one I am presenting is Open Office. It’s not as snazzy as Microsoft or even iWork, but it will do the job. It’s a free open source software application developed by Oracle, you know the people who created Java (when that little coffee cup pops up in your icon tray that’s Java). The software is stable, I’ve been using it for years and you can open up Word docs and save your file as Word docs, so you aren’t left out in the cold.
  • Video players – I think all of our computers came with some sort of video players…but here are the well known ones as well as another options.
    1. Adobe Flash Player – I’m thinking we all have it or have heard of it. I think this thing can be buggy, but that’s just my opinion. You can’t watch Youtube, Hulu, Amazon, etc without flash. For Pete’s sake it’s integrated into that dang Google Chrome browser. It can be even buggier on that thing.
    2. Quicktime – This is Apple’s developed video player. It comes automatically with iTunes. I don’t have many issues to say on the playback quality of this one. It’s free and it’s fine.
    3. Divx – The playback quality is really good on this player. It’s popular among an umm….certain selection of people. There are sites, that use this player, and the content is uploaded by users of video. So let’s say you live in the U.K. and wanted to watch a show only available in the U.S., there may some generous soul who has uploaded said file so that you can watch. That is just one example of its usage, you could of course create your own content and upload it to whatever site you want. Yup…totally sane usage of this one…moving on…
  • Virus Protection – Now more than ever this is really important for your computer. My advice comes in two pieces, first always back up your data to an external hard drive. I have one for each computer. The second part is get good protection software. Here are my suggestions for free protection software:
    1. Avast – this one is for your PC, which is anything that runs on a Microsoft Operating System (Microsoft OS is pretty much anything that says Windows)
    2. iAntiVirus – this one is for your apple
    3. If you are running on Linux, you are hardcore and you probably don’t need my advice. Not only that, Linux is pretty safe since a lot of folks are running Microsoft, but you already knew that. You know you gansta!!!!!
  • SMC Fan Control – if you love your computer, you need to make sure that it doesn’t run hot. My little iMac, she’s one hot tamale, so I use this software to keep her calm cool and collected.
  • Java – this is for all you techies. If you want to create programs and learn a programming language to create applications, try this one. I find it easy to learn and use. It’s pretty robust, but I have an issue with their revised relationship with Apple, and I don’t want to run it on my laptop. Anyway lots of tutorials available, so why not.
  • CAD (Computer Aided Design) – I am really curious about this type of software. But the free ones I have found thus far are all PC based. Grrrr… Does anyone have suggestions?
I know there are tons more. But this is just a short list (at least I think it’s short). Click on the name to take you the site if you are curious. What would you add to this list?
8 thoughts on “Internet Tinkering…

  1. It’s so crazy how much there is!

    • I know, and I didn’t even include everything I was thinking of. I had wanted to include polyvore. Have you seen that site, it’s kind of fun to play with, but I wonder if I would get bored of it.

  2. Blogger’s pretty decent. Use it as a back up blog. Or to put up poems and stuff that has inspired me.

    I also think that Open Office is just as good as Word. Does all the same things just as well. Sometimes formats better as well.

    Adobe flash player may be the greatest single thing ever.

    And again, nice theme.

    • I don’t mind blogger either. It’s alright to navigate in my opinion.

      There are some issues when opening .doc files with Open Office, that’s when you notice some of the attributes of Word are different. I like and use both, I think that for what it is, Open Office is very stable and robust software. I’d recommend it to anyone.

      I like Flash too, but for me when the latest versions of browsers come out, it can act funny. I think it’s a compatibility issue. Oh well.

      Thanks, I think the last theme might have made it hard for readers, at least that was a comment I got. I just wanted to make it easy for everyone.

  3. OpenOffice sounds good. I’ve been opening documents with GoogleDocs.
    There are things I don’t like about Blogger like not knowing who has visited, or not being notified of comment replies.
    Have you heard of RedGage? I’d stay clear of it. Some of my MS/FB friends were on it, so I checked it out. There is no way to delete your profile. I had to request 2 or 3 times for customer support to delete it.
    So… I really don’t have anything to add to your list. LOL!

    • I like Google Docs in a way. It’s good cloud computing, but I the only problem is that you worry about security. The security measures aren’t so great and Google is a main target for hackers.

      You’re right about Blogger, it’s not good with follow up. But it’s not as important to Google maybe, so it’s underdeveloped. Like it’s a few generations back technology. But I like the idea that I won’t be thinking about the number. Just about the content. I think the number can add a sense of stress to it.

      Never heard of RedGage. I honestly don’t like to many of these connection sites. You know you can never delete your wordpress account. You can delete the site, but not the account. That makes me annoyed.

Leave a Reply

