A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Naked on the Internet

8 Comments

Funny title right? But this has less to do with physical nakedness and more to do with personal information on the internet. It may be because of all the media coverage of people putting their information on the internet and the dangers that it may hold. Or it could be because of all those years I spent in law enforcement. But I think I may be overly cautious about the information I put out on the information super highway, you never know who is going to see that info and what they will do with it. However, I know I may be paranoid and that paranoia is probably fueled by my over active imagination. Here is what I am wondering, if any of you have the same paranoid fears….curious? Here’s my abbreviated list:

  1. It crossed my mind to post pictures of my home when I had some downtime, but then I had this thought: what if a would be robber gets a hold of it. And if for some reason they can figure out where you live they have a layout of your home, that could be trouble. This fear is probably the outcome of reading a ridiculous amount of police reports (one learns to skim through those things because you’re always in a hurry), reviewing discovery (evidence), and chatting with victims and witnesses.
  2. I also thought of posting a picture, but then I thought that really clinches your identity. I thought of the fact that sometimes I put my silly thoughts and personal beliefs into this blog, usually there isn’t anything that is offensive (I’ve tried to make sure of that) but some people can take anything out of context and derive some sort of negative meaning. I imagined a business relation getting hold of something I’d written, it being misconstrued and affecting our relationship.
  3. I don’t know about you, but I definitely tone down my sense of humor. In person you can try to gauge by someones facial expression, body language, tone, and phrasing how they will respond to something. Online you have a handicap, you just never know if they will understand that you are joking and that it wasn’t meant to be taken literally. Even in person you never know if someone might be a little fickle, laughing one minute taking it the wrong way the next. [I had a personal story here and I just deleted it, I imagined the person involved reading it and having a bee in her bonnet, not that I am friends with her, but you never know] The bottom line is you never know if a person will choose to misunderstand your meaning (I find a lot of people enjoy making themselves the victim, I’d rather not give them that opportunity).
  4. I tend not to (or at least I try not to) put too much personal information on here. And when I do write something about myself it still gives me pause, I wrote a several sentences about that personal incident and deleted the whole thing. I think even if you don’t put their names in your blog, some people would still not want to be written about on your blog. Better to ask their permission and hope that no one in their lives would take offense to it. Man how did this all get so complicated?
  5. I can be opinionated and blunt (not all the time, but I tend to be honest). This makes me worry that something I write will offend people, again you never know when someone will overreact or decide to take something the wrong way. I am better at controlling it on posts, but on comments I think sometimes I hit that comment button before I finish my filtration process. This happened twice, and I thought oh boy this may be trouble. Sometimes I suffer from chronic foot-in-mouth, that’s the thing I hate about wordpress, no takesies-backsies.

We live in this great global world, one of the things I don’t want to do is offend someone. Nor do I want to misrepresent myself. And lastly I don’t want to make myself an easy target for identity theft or theft of any kind. I guess my remedy for those phobias is to write about my environment, attract the types of readers who may enjoy those topics and the discourse that follows. And it has worked for me, I really like the people who I have met from blogging and reading their blogs. Probably my phobias will be conquered or I will find a way to make it more personal without negative repercussions, but I guess that will take time.

So does anyone have any internet phobias? Are they different from mine? It can be said that friendships are based on complimentary neuroses…let’s share our crazies…hehehehe…

8 thoughts on “Naked on the Internet

  1. I think you have to be careful especially posting exactly where you live and when you’re on holiday! I’d love to see a pic of you but I understand your reluctance. Just do what you’re comfortable with!

    • Yeah, I wouldn’t post my exact location, but I balance it out with it being the general metropolitan area. Oh and when you won’t be home is a good one too. Yeah, when you have to go into an office too.

      I think my blog is probably not too offensive, and the statistical probability of this blog getting me in trouble is minute. This rationalization is helping me to maybe post a type of picture. I think soon too. Because it’s nice to know who you’re chatting with. Thanks for being supportive, you are sooooo sweet Vix.

  2. I don’t worry too much about what I say, but posting photos is where I’m being reserved.

  3. I do try as much as I can to post as little about myself as I can. My Facebook is pretty much bare, as is my Twitter. Actually I do not think there are any pictures of me on Facebook that I have uploaded. Well there is one but my face is covered.

    I really am a insanely shy person. Luckily I write stories and poems so the need for personal information is very small.

    • Insanely shy? But you do public speaking? Contradiction or quirky inconsistency? Either way, very endearing my friend, I just take it as you being a talented writer who feels a connection with his work, enough so that you can promote it as needed. I hope last week Friday went well.

      But there is something to being a private person too. I think I can be quite shy too, but at the same time I can be pretty social. I have no issues speaking with people one on one, but I talk about more inane things, not the private things. It just feels a little awkward to discuss the private things with people, does that sound funny?

      My photos are all private to certain friends on Facebook, only because some of the people who are friends are people that I may have more of a business relationship with and I don’t want them to think I’m a super dork (which I can be), but I’d like to keep up some of the illusion.

  4. I am totally freaked out by online stalkers and identiy theives. I write under an alias, and never share where I live, or talk about my kids or husband on my blog, unless it is a general statement. I do share pictures of myself, but didn’t at first and got begged into it.

    I’m very nervous about Facebook–Zuckerberg seems like an arse when it comes to privacy issues. I used to have pictures on there, but deleted them after the loosening of privacy on there. Plus we all keep hearing how people get fired for posting vacation pictures of themselves when they are on disability or on a sick day, lol.

    • Thanks for stopping by again and commenting my Friend. Oh yeah, online stalkers have got to be scary. It’s such a fine line we walk, we want to be personable I think, but not give up all our anonymity. And the scary thing about identity thieves is that once it’s stolen there is nothing you can do about it, I mean you can correct your credit as much as you can and the state can prosecute, but really it’s something that can’t be undone.

      Oh and Zuckerberg just seems like an arse all around. Yeah, I deleted all most of the photos, the stuff that is from other folks posting I really can’t do anything about though.

Leave a Reply

