A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

On this the First Day of Summer…

6 Comments


Today is the Summer Solstice, which means it’s the first day of Summer in the Northern Hemisphere. I really don’t have much to say about that, except for the fact that I don’t think I am a summer person. Aside from the fact that it used to mean no school, I really don’t like the heat.  I think some people do, I hear the weather personalities getting giddy from the rising temperature. I feel like throwing a shoe at the television, but I can’t be bothered to locate a shoe. Plus not really worth ruining a TV and even worse a perfectly good shoe.

But it hasn’t gotten so bad yet, that’s more towards middle of July all the way through till September. I spend most of the time lounging in front of a fan or in search of the remote for the an air conditioner (I know it’s not good for the environment, but when it hits 90 plus it’s hard to be an Eco warrior).  The one this I pray is the electricity doesn’t go out. A couple of years back the electricity went out over the Fourth of July weekend, for three days we didn’t have electricity. It was hot and awful. I am a city girl and an absolute wimp. I think I would stink at those survival weekends, most likely I would wither away into a sad little pile or melt into a grumpy little puddle. Either way it would not be a pretty sight. I know that in the desert areas it’s a dry heat, but to me heat is heat. I always wondered if there were places that didn’t used to get hot. If so, when can I move there.

I guess the heat makes me a bit squirrely, but the plants seem to like it. When I came home a few days ago I saw this little plant (sorry, I have no idea what its name is) smiling at me. I thought it looked cute and so I made a mental note to take a snapshot sometime. I thought why not today and so here the little fella is, just beaming away. I also noticed it started to bloom little yellow flowers, maybe it was excited that today was the start of summer. Maybe I should try to be more excited too. OK, it’s going to have to be something I work my way up to.

I wonder how everyone else feels about summer…

6 thoughts on “On this the First Day of Summer…

  1. You see over here it may be summer but yesterday I wore a cashmere sweater all day! I always say I love summer but in truth when I’m abroad, the real heat of summer can be too much for me.

    • Oh that sounds really nice to me. Maybe it’s nice to vacation. I know there are hotter places, but I really don’t think I could survive. I run from hotel to car to hotel in Vegas. I think living on by the beach is nice. Yes, I think we should all get to live on the beach.

  2. I’m not a summer lover myself. Winters are always fun. The sun makes my skin turn darker n’ I hate that. But again, Summer is a blessing. If we had winters all year, things would have been difficult. Nice Post, D! I’m literally sweating at this moment 😦

    • I like Fall and Winter best myself. And when it’s summer, I just pray for it to be over soon. I was sweating all day too. I don’t like that. I feel so ungirly.

  3. I have an odd relationship with summer. On the one hand I like a crisp summer breeze, when the flowers bloom and seeing lots of little insects and spiders scurrying around.

    On the other hand I have hay fever. Which may explain my loving of winter.

    That and snow makes me behave like a five year old.

    • You do enjoy the smallest of things, that makes me smile.

      And I am with you on the allergies issues, so unnecessary really.

      I miss snow, I can’t remember when was the last time I made a snow angel, we don’t get snow here. I think I could be 80 and want to do one, except I may need a hand getting up.

Leave a Reply

