A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Tea Time…

11 Comments

I’ve got something to tell you, I am a TEA LOVER!!!!! It’s not a secret by any means, but it something that seems to have more symbolism to me than maybe it should. I think that tea’s popularity may depend on your location, and how you drink it will also depend on the cultures way of serving it also (for instance I may look at you funny if you put sugar in hot green tea).  But I digress, that may be a pattern with me, let me tell you about my tea background. In our house there was coffee and tea served, but my favorite was tea, an even bigger joy was when my Tía (aunt) would have a tea party. She would have yummy munchies and serve it in an elegant tea set. It was all so wonderful. My Mom and other tías would buy me mini porcelain tea sets, and I would find new ways of damaging said tea sets. Of course all of the damages were accidental and I would glue the little pieces back, but it was never the same. Things would leak. Come to think of it, not one of those little sets survived my rough and tumble childhood. I was quite a funny mischievous little thing.

But as I grew older I learned to, thankfully, take better care of my things. Another thing that came with age is that tea has taken on a whole other role in my life. While I always enjoyed the drink, I hadn’t realized how it became part of my daily ritual and how it became a time to spend chatting with people I enjoy.  It became something special to me. I thought of the roles it played in the Chinese and Japanese culture.  And found it funny that the name of tea is the same in both, it’s pronounced chá and the character used is 茶.  Although there are other dialectical pronunciations, I’m going to go with the mandarin version to make it easier.

  • Fun Fact: I believe our way of saying tea is based upon the Fujian dialect which referred to it as tu

In China, Japan and Korea there are tea ceremonies. Each culture has developed a formal and ritualized way of making, presenting, and consuming tea. These ceremonies were a way of showing your “breeding” with displays of etiquette. I have never been to one myself, and assume I would end up like a big goofy Clydesdale with looks of scorn cast upon me. All those broken little tea sets are now coming back to haunt me. That being said, I think I would like to study up on the proper etiquette and try my hand at one of these ceremonies. I hope to not embarrass myself too much.

What I have now are informal impromptu tea sessions. I collect tea cups and tea pots and love to procure interesting teas. I have a few one cup tea pots, with the cup and teapot sold as a set, like the one below.

One of my many teapots...unfortunately you can't see the pretty design at this angle.

I wouldn’t say that I am overly picky about my teas, but I think I may be. I think I am in denial over how fussy I really am. I bet if I had a therapist I would have been telling them about this. I tend to like loose leaf teas. Right now I am enjoying Mighty Leaf’s blend Mandarin Rose

Mighty Leaf's Mandarin Rose, just about to go in it's tea bag...

It’s a blend of black tea with rose petals and longan fruit (tastes like lychee), and it is delicious. Just in case you are confused about the different types of teas, basically the lighter the color (of the tea leaf) the lighter the flavor. And all the tea leaves are from the same type of plant, the colors are referring to how they were produced and processed. Honestly, if I were to go on with all the types of teas I would be here for a very long time. But in addition to tea leaf teas, there are more fragrant teas, like blooming flower tea, and fruit teas. My favorite trick, if you don’t have a lot of cash is take a lemon and slice it, place a few slices in your cup and add water that has boiled a couple of minutes ago (extremely hot boiling water can ruin tea as it is too hot). Add some honey to taste and you have a lovely lemon tea. If you can get an organic lemon, so you can avoid pesticides.

I think I have rambled on about my love of tea for long enough. One of my dreams is to open my own little tea shop, where my old and new friends can gather and relax. As my friend, if and when I met you I would like to pour you a cup a tea. For me, that is something I must do for you. It’s my way of showing that I have respect and care for you.

11 thoughts on “Tea Time…

  1. I like the pink teapot! I like a big cuppa on a cold morning. You shoudl def go for atfernoon tea at the Ritz if you visit London!

    • The pink of the teapot is so pretty set against the green of the cup. It has some fancy scribbley design on the side. I like tea all the time, when it’s hot, I make ice tea. I can’t help myself.

      I think you’re right, on my trip to London I have to go to the Ritz. I am not too familiar with English/western tea culture, in the sense of are there any particular customs I need to be aware of. For some reason I don’t think so. Most Asians don’t pour their own drinks socially, so I was wondering, in an attempt to avoid a faux pas.

  2. it is interesting that how tea time is associated with socialization perspective. good post!

    • I think it bring out the more refined qualities in some of our cultures. There is an intimacy and yet a formality to it. The dichotomy of the act is very intriguing to me.

  3. Its quite possible that tea is the single greatest thing ever. Ever ever.

  4. I love seeing this picture of you especially because I know you are a private person. You little doll! Do you make your own tea bags? I see the bag, I see the loose ingredients… how does that work?

    • Haha, I chickened out and took it down. Funny, someone from work used to call me dolly because she saw a picture of me when I was little and thought that I looked like a little doll.

      I actually buy the tea bags at a Asian supermarket. I have the reusable kind too, but it’s so sad when the tea stains the cheesecloth. You can’t get it out. I may try it again though, since it’s better for the environment. But for gluttony’s sake I like the disposable one.

      • I’m glad I got a peek before you chickened out. LOL!
        Thanks for the advice re: tea and tea bags. I’m pretty clueless about tea, actually.
        Ok, I’ve posted a couple of pics of me on my “about me” page, but may chicken out in the long run too.
        Have a great Sunday!

      • I’m glad you did too, because honestly it would just be for my blogging buddies to see. Kind of so we know who we’re talking too. I just got weirded out when I thought of complete strangers peeking at my picture, and then thought of *gasp* even worse exiled family member or former friends getting a hold of my blog. Talk about paranoia.

  5. Pingback: Things To Make On Rainy Days… « A Happy Peach

Leave a Reply

