A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Surprises Can Be Found When You Look Up…

8 Comments

Dear Friends,

Sometimes our daily lives can provide us with simple, gorgeous, and unexpected surprises. To start this story off I must preface it with the following admission: I have a tendency to be oblivious sometimes. It’s like I get tunnel vision and become focused on my goal, paying little attention to anything else. I am not sure this is some sort of detrimental condition I have developed or a strategic battle tactic instinctively devised to help me make my way through the day. But what I have come to realize that it is a disservice to my life, that I have missed out a few good bits of my environment. And I wonder if others who hustle through life with their gadgets, deadlines, and people to answer to have done the same. Odds are yes, I think we try to cram so much in to our lives that we end up ignoring the simple pleasures. We are so stressed that we forget to enjoy our surroundings. It’s so easy to do.

This stark, but true realization came to me as I have started to take pictures. I started to look for things around me of interest. A lot of times I just passed them by, or if I noticed them I didn’t really give them much thought. But when I began to want to preserve them with my wee camera it dawned on me how much of life’s beauty I had missed. It was quite a bitter-sweet notion. For instance, I run errands at the local Target all the time. I pop in and out, thinking about what I need to get, how much to spend, what to make for dinner, do I need to get gas and what else is on my list of things to do. I never paid attention to all the plants in the parking lot, it would look sad and depressing if they weren’t there. A couple of weeks ago I began to notice them. I saw the pretty marigold colored flowers on the shrub. I sheepishly took out my camera, knowing that my fellow shopper would think it odd, but bravely carried forth my self-appointed mission. I took a few pictures, and then made my way to my car. I had parked in front of a tree in an attempt of getting some shade. I tilted my head up and noticed how interesting the leaves were, but I also noticed their accompanying flowers. To me they looked so unique. Like little fans or peacock tail feathers playfully set about the sharp leaves. The sight of them tickled me, and so a snapshot I took.

I was glad that I took the time to look around and notice what small pleasures surrounded me. I had just wanted to share the thought and wondered if anyone else has had the same type of experience or revelation.

Love,

D

8 thoughts on “Surprises Can Be Found When You Look Up…

  1. It’s so easy to just live in your own bubble and not take anything in!

  2. This is a wonderful post.

    The little things are truely wonderful. Things like a spider repairing its web after a particulary windy day, the way ferns lean to one side and magpies pottering around in the grass.

    Doesn’t just have to be outdoors either.

    • In my logical head I know you’re quite right. I remember at the end of Charlotte’s Web there were all of those itty bitty spiders flying off to find their place in the world, and I know they work on their webs so intricately, but the whole shooting things out of your bum and having ten eyes and eight legs, all off-putting for me. Gives me the willies. But if you don’t have that predisposition it must be a great sight in nature.

      Now I have pictures of magpies in little gardening outfits enjoying a day out and planting some veg.

      And there are some interesting things that do happen indoors too, you’re quite right again.

  3. I agree Danielle, sometimes we are just so caught up with the things we presumed to be important that we forget to look and admire. It is true that the best things in life are free, we just have to look harder 🙂

    • The rewards are well worth the effort of the hunt. Or maybe we just need to be more open to them. They’re there, but we put all our emphasis on our stresses, which doesn’t make sense because that’s the negative stuff, you’d think we’d look for nicer things in our lives.

  4. Have you continued with this? 🙂 In January I started a 365 photo project for similar purpose but gave up around March/April. It was hard to find inspiration on a daily basis but I should get back into it, at least on a weekly basis. Thanks for the reminder and inspiration!

    • Sadly my camera has died and I have yet to purchase a new one. I was thinking of working on a new blog I already have the idea of it being a weekly thing. I was going to call it a photo bento box and chronicle the week with a photo from each day spliced up to make one picture. It would give me a reason to play with photoshop.

Leave a Reply

