A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Food Chronicles…2…Arepitas….

8 Comments

The star of the dish....

A simple and easy favorite food of mine is arepas (pronounced a-ray-pas). They’re a Venezuelan staple, and we usually have them as a breakfast food. It’s basically Arena Pan, water and salt. Once you have made your masa by combining your ingredients you shape them. Traditionally you make a sort of flattened ball. This is done by taking a ball of dough and cupping your hands, you pat and pass the dough from hand to hand till you’ve made the proper shape. This can take practice. Then you pop them on the cast iron grill/skillet (anything that can retain heat and brown food) and brown the bottom and flip them over and brown the top, then move it over to the oven to finish cooking. When we take them out the oven we butter them and eat them. You can also add in some cheese, whatever cheese you like. Sometimes I like to add the cheese in before so it gets melted in side the masa, it is really yummy that way. But you can eat them with anything you desire, it’s sort of like corn bread, but not really.

There are different variations of this dish. One totally less healthy version is to fry them. Now they taste super good fried, but I feel so naughty eating them but does that stop me? No, no it does not. However I don’t do it so often. If we fry them we make them small and sometimes make them sort of doughnut shaped. A regular sized arepa is about 1.5″ to 2″ in diameter and maybe about .5 to .75 thick. Now the tiny ones, which we call arepitas (add an ita to anything and it becomes the smaller version), are my favorites. As a kid I was a picky eater and to get me to eat my Mom would make tiny muñeca (Spanish for doll) arepitas for me. She still does, not that I am so picky now. Another version is to use the masa and fill it with seasoned ground beef and fry them, if it sounds like it’s a fried meat pie that’s because it is. It’s a sort of hybrid areapa empenada, but in truth in I just refer to it as an empenada. Don’t know what an empenada is? OK, that’s the next food lesson.

Want to see it in action? I found some ladies kicking it old school. You don’t have to mix by hand, a spoon is alright. I think how it’s made varies from house to house, because we make it a bit thicker and the tops and bottoms need to get a little more brown.

 

OK, so they even have a machine that does it…

So does this look interesting to you? If you try it, the first few times you do it may look a little wonky. Just keep at it. You don’t want the top to crack, but it will still taste good even if it looks a little off. Even better, I hope I get a chance to make it for my friends one day. 😀 Let me know if you’re up for it.

8 thoughts on “Food Chronicles…2…Arepitas….

  1. More food! Danielle, you are killing me……..!

    • Tee hee…it made me want to make it last night. I woke up wanting empenadas. I was thinking of driving over to the Cuban bakery to get the other version of it. We’re going to have to met up and I am going to have to cook for you!!!!

  2. Its very tempting and hard for us Muslims, to go through such delicious posts during Ramadan! But I think Tien gets in more critical situation bcz ov food than us hahaha

    • Oh no, sorry, I know that if you are trying to not eat that this can make it super difficult, sorry. I wait to post more food stuff till Ramadan is over.

      Yeah, I think our friend Tien does enjoy a nice meal. I do too 😀

  3. This looks so AMAZING!!! Makes me want to run to the grocery store, get the ingredients, and start whipping up a batch! You had me drooling at the thoughts of “stuffing it with cheese”! I would prefer having someone familiar to this food, make it for me – this way, I get to see how it’s really done! PS: I haven’t forgotten about the tag — I’ve been so insanely busy, that I’m now trying to figure out a way to stretch 24 hours into 48! Love this post, Danielle!!!

    • It really is good and easy to make. I just saw the electric one at Target and was debating if I should go the easy way out and just get it. I think most things taste better with cheese. Ooohhy gooeeey cheese. I wonder how it tastes with brie.

      No worries Eugenia about the tag, I know we get busy and doing them can take some time. If you figure out a way to make the day stretch longer, let me know. I think that would be neat, we can all get our beauty rest.

Leave a Reply

