A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Style Inspiration…Zooey Deschanel…

4 Comments

Still of Zooey Deschanel in (500) Days of Summer

Zooey Deschanel in (500) Days of Summer photo courtesy of IMDB

I think most of you have seen her in a movie, on some TV show, magazine, advertisement or press junket or something. This girl (can I still refer to her as a girl, she’s passed the 30 year mark, eh, I’m going for it) seems to be everywhere. In fact she has a new show coming up this Fall called New Girl (see Fox is still calling her a girl, why not). Personally, I don’t mind because she’s pretty balanced with that right bit of dorky (adorkable some say), plus I love that her style kind of reflects that. It’s pretty and girly, but there is just something a bit different (maybe even off). I think that her quirkiness tends to be endearing and makes her seem likable.

Style wise, she tends to blend retro and modern with a wink and a smile. I think that’s what I like, I enjoy dressing up and I like to incorporate a bit of play into my outfit. I think my favorite thing about getting all gussied up (dressing up) is the mood enhancing capabilities and don’t even get me started on putting on my make-up. It’s absolute fun for me and has its therapeutic value. I also find that it can really motivate you or change your mindset. But at the same time you can’t take it too seriously. Although, I think some people don’t heed that advice. In any event I think I’ve been in a rambling fashion sort of mood, it must be all the September issues that are littered throughout my room. Falls almost here, yay!!!!!!!!!!

Oh yeah, and this girl also likes to sing (if you saw Elf you probably heard her). She’s even gotten Fox to allow her character to sing, her character is sort of an odd duck.

Ummm…adorkable?

But I am loving this band, they’re called Best Coast and their lo-fi sound comes across as totally fresh. And they shot their video at a quinceanera. That’s so LA.

For some reason I think that She and Him (Zooey Deschanel’s band) wants to sound like this. I couldn’t find the music video for this song, it’s somewhat depressing but it was done by Drew Barrymore.

I think the music encapsulates my melancholia, which has more of a wistful leaning. We all have those sort of times don’t we? I think I may have written about Zooey Deschanel as a style inspiration because I could use some inspiration Maybe it’s time I hop into something pretty, although it’s so humid and warm it’s such a bother. What do you do when you feel in a funk? Let me know, I’ll be over there playing with lip gloss…

4 thoughts on “Style Inspiration…Zooey Deschanel…

  1. I really enjoyed the film and I love her look – she’s pretty and quirky! Good choice for some style inspiration!

    • Yeah, I like the combo. It’s nice that she’s not stuck up and can make fun of herself a bit, not take it too seriously. I think people take things way too seriously sometimes.

  2. Swoon. I’d say more but…swoon.

    • I guess, and this is going to sound weird, but you and I have the same taste in women. But, as my friend said as he told me when he said that Russell Crowe is a handsome man in Gladiator, I am comfortable enough with my own womanhood (he said manhood) that I can say that. Haha, that just means that I can be your wingman/wingwoman!!!!!

Leave a Reply

