A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Something Yummy To Do With Eggplant…

4 Comments

This is just sort of a whim. It’s finally starting to cool down a bit. Last week it was about 101 degrees here for a couple of days. Then it cooled off to low 80’s over the weekend. You know cool weather means I get to cook. I saw Chinese Eggplant while I was at the Chinese market and grabbed a couple. I figured I would give it a go. Now I’ve used Japanese eggplant and the chubby eggplant (sorry I am not sure where that one is from exactly) but this was my first time trying to use a Chinese Eggplant. So I looked for a recipe on Youtube, and this one seemed decent.

Only problem is I didn’t have all the ingredients. So my sauce consisted of:

  • Soy Sauce (about 3 tablespoons)
  • 5 garlic cloves
  • Oyster Sauce (about 1 tablespoon)
  • sesame oil (about 1 tablespoon)
  • rice wine vinegar (about 1.5 tablespoon)
  • brown sugar (about 1 tablespoon)
  • a few slices of gari (pickled ginger)
Give it a bit of a taste to see if it’s something you’d want to eat, and adjust seasoning. I par-cooked the eggplants (which were cut into one inch triangle shapes) for three minutes. Then I added the sauce. I cooked that down for about two minutes and then added in the chicken stock and some cornstarch (I actually added the cornstarch to my chicken stock and mixed before adding). I let the roux cook (roux is the cornstarch mixed with the stock and the sauce) for about another two minutes to thicken the sauce. Cook to your taste. I personally liked it a lot. Let me know what you think.
4 thoughts on “Something Yummy To Do With Eggplant…

  1. I have never cooked eggplant before though I enjoy it in restaurants sometimes. Will try this out sometime, I have all the ingredients in my pantry….all I need is ummm eggplant 🙂

    • It’s super easy. I had never really done it this way either, but I was really happy with the outcome. Although my Mom wanted it mushier. But I like a bit of firmness to my eggplant. Also I just used what I had too, and winged it, I’d taste it the sauce first, make sure it’s salty enough, but the ginger doesn’t really come out till you cook it and the brown sugar isn’t really going to make it sweet.

      Tell me how it goes my friend. 😀

  2. I’m not crazy about eggplants but it is delicious when piping hot. As soon as it gets cold, though, it just feels like a soggy mess in my mouth and I can’t eat it. But my mom really likes them so I might try out the recipe for her some time soonish! Thanks!

    • I can understand that, there’s a mush factor to eggplants that makes the texture an acquired one. I still liked it a bit firm, so it wasn’t so mushy for me.

      It’s super easy. Let me know how you and your Mom/family liked it.

Leave a Reply

