A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Sprouts…

16 Comments

Yikes, I didn’t make my goal last week. I had my moments, but I just did not have the time or the will. But if at first you don’t succeed, try, try again, so here I am. What’s been occupying my time lately is my little garden, or at least starting it. Earlier this year I felt the yearnings of gardening so I bought a mini basil kit from Target. It sat on my dresser for a while, then I opened it and read the directions, but for whatever reason I did not actually plant it. I then thought that I lost the seeds and then bought some new ones and set it on my nightstand, still did not sow those seeds. This was a few months ago. I guess it was one of those things that I just never got around to. Lately I’ve been a little sad, that may be why I haven’t had the urge to write, I felt like whatever I wrote would have a tinge of blue to it. A while a blue note is good for jazz (wink-wink to all my jazz buddies) it seemed inappropriate to post sad little writings on a blog entitle “A Happy Peach.” I thought a sabbatical would be more in tune with the theme of things that make my heart happy than disconnected ramblings.

In my state of despair, which is totally unnatural for my nature, I thought that I needed to shake this funk. I decided to plant those little seeds, and finally did so on Sunday. Can I tell you, it has been a cathartic experience . I watered and sunned the little guys and a couple of days later I saw some tiny little sprouts. There are a few itty bitty leaves starting to sprout today. Right now my little friends are sitting here listing to some Oliver Nelson and enjoying myself. Funny how having a little extra life with you can perk you up.

I enjoyed it so much that I decided to start growing some other veggies and edibles. I figure why not grow something one can use. Here is a list of what has been obtained and planted:

  • Mesclun (I can’t wait to make my own Mesclun salad, how cool will that be?)
    • Arugula
    • Endive – Green Curled
    • Kale – Red Russian
    • Lettuce – Red Romaine
    • Lettuce – Parris Island Cos
    • Lettuce – Salad Bowl
    • Lettuce – Lolla Rosa
  • Organic Beets
  • Heirloom Cherokee Purple Tomato
  • Garlic Chives
  • Chamomile (yay tea time)
This got me thinking of a great Christmas gift. Something personal, something nice. I thought why not plant some tea flowers (chamomile, lemon balm, etc.) in a cute flower-pot (you could get a terra-cotta pot and paint it yourself if you are so inclined) and plant them and after a couple of weeks you have a cute potful of flowers which the recipient can use. Give the gift with a tea strainer and tea-cup and make a basket. I would call it the teapot basket, how cute would that be? I love Christmas, I love to buy lovely gifts but I also like to make personal gifts that I think the recipient would enjoy. Like if the person was a cocoa drinker, I think I would make a little basket with cocoa and mug and whatever little fun things I could find, but I would also make homemade marshmallows and cookies. Those sort of things just make the whole gift unique and hopefully it speaks your love for that person.Oh I’m excited about Christmas already….yikes I still have Halloween and Thanksgiving to go. But I have noticed not a lot of people have been decorating for Halloween this year, which is usually a sign of economic downturn. Hmm…
16 thoughts on “Sprouts…

  1. I think they’d make great gifts!

    • I think it’s a sweet idea. I would get a cute little teddy in pajamas and put it in the gift basket, since chamomile is good for sleeping. Oh and a tiny teacup if I can find it.

  2. Good to hear you’re in good spirits.

    Planting things is nice. I did it with some apple pips. Theres now three (small) apple tress in the garden.

    Its a wonderful thing to experience.

    • Thank you my friend. I think sometimes it can take a bit of effort to stay in good spirits.

      Oh that sounds really nice. I’ve got an avocado tree, lemon tree, and an orange tree in our backyard. I think an apple tree would fit in nicely. I was eating a plum last night and looked at the pit thinking, I can grow this. But then where will my orchard stop?

      Those little sprouts are so life affirming to me. To watch them grow is so wonderful indeed.

  3. You and Tien are so good at growing veggies! i suck at it.

    • I thought I was a plants death sentence too. But I think it’s just that I was too young and didn’t really make time to care for it. Now I am way more patient and disciplined so my plants are growing really well.

  4. What an inspiring post!
    Does Target still have the basil starter kits? I so need to try this!

    • I haven’t seen them lately. They were in the dollar area. And to make matters worse they’ve taken away their gardening section. I don’t know if it’s permanently gone since it’s winter. But heck it’s Southern California and there are such things as winter veg.

  5. You inspired me to search for an herb kit this morning! I just ordered a kit to grow basil, cilantro, and parsley. Thank you so much!

    • Oh cool. It’s really rewarding and satisfying. My sprouts are getting so big, and it’s been less than a week. They have cute little leaves and everything. They’re pretty hardy too and you can use them to cook. Great for the holiday season. I’m really excited for you too.

  6. Awww, Danielle — so cute! I’m sorry you were in a funk. This entire month has been similarly funky over here. But happy to hear you’ve found a way to keep cheerful. I love basil and use so much of it in cooking that it’s wasteful to buy when I can just grow them. I’ll follow your example like many others here and hope it has the same effect on me as it did for you! 🙂

    • Thanks Liz, yeah the whole being in a funk is no bueno but I think I just have to try a bit harder to move past the funkiness. The whole world seems a bit topsy turvy right now, don’t you think. I was going to start posting a bunch of things that were on my mind, but each time I thought this doesn’t sound like a positive thing, is there anything positive about posting it. Like is there anything good that will come out of it. Some topics I think are worth posting, but they need to be formatted in a way that introduces it as a problem to be solved with some kernel thoughts on solutions.

      I’d definitely start with herbs, you can keep them indoors (good especially since it’s winter) and they’re pretty hardy. Plus there is something fantastic about watching a little life emerge. Also my little lettuce patches are starting to bud. The beets, chives, and chamomile haven’t seen light yet, but soon I think. That’s my farmers report.

      Liz we’ll get through the funk, the funk shall be part of the past soon. We’re in this together my friend.

  7. Oh I have been busy gardening in the weekends too Danielle! (Great minds think alike….? Tee hee!)It makes me happy, the little plants are like little sunshines 🙂 And I am sure they will make for excellent and delightful gifts!

    • I know, I was thinking about you when I was planting and wondering how your little garden was doing. Tee hee, we are alike in many wee ways, I love seeing the first sprouts, very cute and very hopeful. They sort of remind me of children, the way they are growing and trying their best to be what they are. The only problems with giving them as gifts is that so many of my friends and relatives live far away from me, so plants can’t be sent. I think I would have to ship a seed kit or something. Hmmm….

  8. Aww, sorry you’ve not been feeling well lately. I’m glad you were able to put some energy into your life by starting a garden. Sounds like you’ll have a lot of good things to eat when it’s time to harvest. I also really like the idea of giving plants as gifts; it seems to be much more of wanting to add to a person’s life than just giving things.

    • Well, I’m in the act of shaking this funk, so hopefully I’m be back to my old self in no time. I’m already seeing all the little leaves of the sprouts I planted this week. They look so cute. A weird part of me wonders if I’ll be too sad to eat the produce. You spend so much time and energy trying to grow them and then to eat them in a matter of minutes. I think I’ll get over it though, but I’m getting quite attached to them right now.

      I think it can be a thoughtful gift, but I think we’d have to make sure that the recipient would appreciate such a thing. Some people don’t like these sort of gifts I think, some folks just like getting money. Ah well, I think as long as you give a gift with genuine love then that’s the best you can do.

Leave a Reply

