A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Mulled…’Tis the Season…

2 Comments

It’s been raining here. Which I really like, I came home immediately and threw together a quick soup. After cubing some chicken and browning them I then cheated with Trader Joe’s Organic Tomato Soup and a can of some hearty veggie soup. Threw in some extra pasta (although that may have been a mistake) and voilà. I also broiled some chicken for a bit of salad later on.

The cold weather has me thinking of mulled cider and mulled wine. Mulled apple cider is so good, I used to make it for coworkers during the holidays when we had impromptu nosh. How you ask, well I would bring in a crock pot, a sachet of spices, and a big jug of Trader Joes Unfiltered Apple Juice. It has to be an unfiltered juice, it will be that sort of murky looking drink, that’s just the way that pressed apple juice looks. You will need to consume it relatively quickly as there should be little to no preservatives in it. As for the spices, you can get it premade, like William Sonoma or World Market or whip up a batch yourself. The basics of mulling spices are cinnamon sticks and cloves, but I like to through in some nutmeg and orange peels. It works really well in the crock pot, I would have to run to refill the pot every ten minutes and I would be out before the morning was over. The aromatic smell of the apple cider is just too much to resist and its round flavor is so soft and comforting that your stomach is always happy that you had a mug. If you do it on a stove top, remember to use a slow and low fire. The longer you leave it, the bolder the flavor becomes. There are a lot of different ways of making it. Here is that nutty P. Allen Smiths’ recipe:

Like a bit of DIY and kitsch here is a bit of craft with a victory apple cider:

Apple cider not your thing, want something…mmm…a little stronger, try it with your favorite Hooch.

OK, I know it’s a bit early for Christmas, but I love the holidays. I think mulled cider or mulled wine is great treat to make anyone feel special especially on a winter’s day.

2 thoughts on “Mulled…’Tis the Season…

  1. Awww… I want to work with you! I’ve never tried making cider. (It feels like now a lot of my comments to your posts begin with “I never ____”!) I don’t dislike cider but I have to be in a certain mood for it. Either that or I’ve been drinking some poor ciders. But you’re right, it’s definitely the season. I crave soup morning, noon and night. Doesn’t matter what kind as long as it’s yummy.

    • Maybe one day we can work together 😀 I’m always in charge of food and festivities, I think I’m a feeder. It’s not so bad making cider, I make a small batch for myself and Mom sometimes. Yeah it is does require a certain mood/feeling. I think I’m just super excited about Christmas and the food and drink that comes with it.

      I love soup, there is something fantastic about soup. If we were ever in a situation were we were staying in the same place I would be making us soup 24/7. I want to learn how to make Korean soup. I’m obsessed with ttoboki, but I haven’t figured out a way to cook it the way I like.

Leave a Reply

