A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Lessons Learned From My Urban Garden…

10 Comments

Dear Friends,

Have you ever noticed that there are lessons to be learned when we are open to them. My mini garden has taught me a few things, and I’ve been meaning to pass them along to you. Now this is both an impromptu list of things that they have taught me thus far as well as a list that gives light to a bit of my temperament. In the spirit of full disclosure, I’d like to preface this list with the following admission (with my head hung a bit low):

As a young person I tended to be in a rush which many times lead to hasty decisions. I think it’s also noteworthy that as a youth I suffered from that delusion that past 16 I was on my way to adulthood and that somehow (perhaps magically) endowed me with great wisdom (oh so laughable these many years later), when as an adult I realize how little I actually know.

In fact the older I get the greater my view of the chasm of my ignorance (oh gracious that is way too dramatic). I think I was really closed off, but thankfully as I’ve grown I think I have become more open and have made it my mission to discard the predisposed conditional thinking as it was no way of thinking at all. So with the admission done on to the list.

Lessons Learned From My Urban Garden

  1. The smallest things can give you the greatest joys. Literally, when a seed begins to sprout it can be so exciting. I think just as exciting as when you were a little kid and you planted some seeds in a paper cup and held daily vigils to see what would grow. Maybe it is because it reminds me of that innocent act. Maybe it is because it is almost miraculous that something organic is transforming right in front of your eyes. Maybe it is because you realize that it has a life of its own and you were part of it springing forth. Whatever the reason, it is really a joy to see the little fellows growing.
  2. All things have a natural progression. All the seeds that were going to sprout all sprout when they’re ready in the manner in which they were destined to do.These little guys are born with the knowledge and initiative of what it takes to live. Each of them starts small and tries to grow bigger and stronger.
  3. Everyone and everything grows on their own personal timeline. I am not sure why it did not dawn on me earlier but even if you plant ten seeds of the exact same variety in the same condition they won’t all come up at the same time. Some will come up quick while others may take their time. But given the chance they will each grow in their own way.
  4. Warmth is better than cold. Coldness is a thing that is can halt growth, it can kill things. Warmth, much like kindness, can bring about growth, healthiness, and beauty.
  5. Light is important. Plants will respond to light and will grow towards it. Darkness may cause a plant to wither away and die.
  6. Many times it’s better not to interfere with nature, always better to keep it simple. I tend to want to contribute and do things, when all along things are happening. Most of the times I just need to cool my jets and go with the follow, and respond as needed. Sometimes it is better to do less than more. Nature tells you what it needs, and life tells you what you need to do.
  7. It is important to pay attention to the smallest of details. They say that God is in the details and in this instance I can relate to the importance of details. I found it funny that the sprouts responded well in smaller pots than larger ones. I think it may be easier for them to feed off the light. Just thinking about those little things makes quite a difference.
  8. Life cannot be sustained in an environment that is not balanced. If the soil is too wet or too dry for a plant it cannot survive. Life cannot be sustained in extreme conditions.
  9. Sometimes things don’t work out the way you want (i.e. some plants may die or become ill :(). This is really sad experience, it is like any other loss and you feel bad and a bit mournful when it does happen.
  10. You can always start over, and plant new seeds. If things go wrong or you want to grow a new “crop” you can always start a new project. You just need to have the will to do it and if the resources are not readily available you need to find creative way to start your new project. And when you do start you are armed with new knowledge and experience gained from the previous crops as well as your new creative strategy.
I think that all these principles can be applied in our everyday lives. Who knew that plants were trying to teach us so much?  In their own silent way they communicated their lessons by demonstration. These little guys have become some of my best teachers for life. So what do you think? What lessons have plants taught you?
10 thoughts on “Lessons Learned From My Urban Garden…

  1. What an interesting perspective, and all very true. I guess my experience with growing plants (sadly quite limited!) has been that one needs to have patience. Lots of patience 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by Louise and commenting. It is so true that one needs patience, you know that was the one thing I forgot to post and ironically it was the thing that prompted me to write this post in the first place. I even remembered afterwards and thought I need write a follow-up post and list it. That’s the thing with lists, there’s always something you’ll forget to put on there. I’m a new gardener, just a few weeks ago I started, so my experience is limited too. 😀

      • Really? You should do a follow up. And a post on what plants you’re nurturing 🙂 Right now I have a basil and an almost-dead parsley. And a hydrangea that refuses to accept it’s winter… a true optimist. It’s my favorite.

      • Hmm…I think you’re right a follow-up would be a good idea.

        My little garden is struggling right now, so I’ll list a rehab list. My favorite plants are the ones that are functional. Although it seems a bit mean to plan on munching on them, I feel like I am rubbing my hands together. I love an optimistic plant, I really hope the little fella can will it’s way through winter.

  2. Awww… dear D, this is a beautiful post. I need to follow your example, do some gardening and straighten out some of my perspectives! Everything you said is so very true. But in the midst of daily business, they’re often forgotten or tossed by the wayside. I think I feel this whole post on a larger scale in my life: winter is almost unbearably difficult for me while I just come alive in the summer. Maybe I’m just a wee little plant after all. -_-

    • Thank you so much for the lovely compliment my dear friend Liz. This year I’ve been trying to sort out all the muck in my life and make some changes. Mostly perspective, I’ve worked really hard but I’ve never truly done what I’ve wanted. The garden is something I’ve always wanted to try my hand at. I think trying to start it has helped me a great deal in many ways. Their lives are so simple, they have but one imperative to live and grow. I think with all of societies pressures it’s hard to forget the essence of living, of being really. They’ve done their best to remind me of it.

      Oh no, you’re a little summer flower, you wilt with the onslaught of winter? Carry a heat lamp with you everywhere so you can manufacture your own little portable summer. I like the fall/winter, it’s great soup weather. The heat of summer makes me feel ill and drawn, I wish it weren’t so.

  3. I love this post. On so many levels.So very wonderful.

    My apple trees are growing well. Thanks in part to these lessons.

    Really this post is straight up awesomeness. Hit right out of the park.

    • Thank you so much my friend for your kind words. I am certainly glad you enjoyed it.

      The weirdest thing is that my little garden started to fall a bit ill after this. I think the weather changed so drastically it shocked them.

Leave a Reply

