A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

I Was Remiss…I’d Forgotten About Patience…

6 Comments

Oh goodness dear friends how could I have forgotten the reason for writing yesterday’s post. The kernel of thought that brought forth yesterday’s list was the fact that one needs patience in order to garden. I remembered it a little while after I posted and thought I would do a follow-up post. I think this lesson is pretty universal, and I was quite pleased when Louise over at The Taupe brought up the topic. Patience is often something that we put on the back burner, I know that I am quite guilty of it.

It seems that our everyday life is led with very little patience. In general we can see this when we consider the idea that we live an instantaneous lifestyle. We expect things to be done right away. The idea of waiting in a line is annoying and a nuisance, if there’s a delay you may even roll your eyes and grumble. We buy things with a click of a mouse and expect it to ship shortly thereafter. We like to plan almost every aspect of our lives in order to minimize the wait. The way we communicate is also a testimony to our lack of patience. Cell phones make sure that someone can always be reached virtually anytime or anywhere. We send text messages, e-mails, and INSTANT messages. If people don’t respond immediately we assume that something is wrong. Is anyone else a little tired of being so available, of being on all the time?

Human beings were not meant to live, and do forgive the cliché statement, at the speed of light. Realistically speaking we move at an average pace, not as slow as a turtle but not as fast as say a running cheetah. We can achieve faster speeds normally under flight or fight conditions, but you should not try to maintain it. You cannot physically keep that momentum, it is really stressful for you and it often takes a toll on your body. But for some reason societal pressures try to create various measures to keep us in a state of constant stress. If it is not one thing then it is another. And for this physical and mental disservice we pay a very high price. Unfortunately I know a bit about what I speak. For too many years I rushed around and tried to cram as much into my waking hours as possible, ultimately sacrificing rest to get things done. I worried about everything and everyone. My thoughts would just spin so quickly, and I’d have to say that I wasn’t happy and I don’t feel that I was healthy (I was also tired of getting speeding tickets). I was quite frankly out of balance, out of whack, and finally understood it be a definite sign that something is wrong (I know, how dense was I?)

Oh this malady of rushing about must be cured. Perhaps it’s time that patience had its renaissance, that we learn to be our natural selves rather than a hurried automaton like version of ourselves. Maybe we should do as the plants do and slow our unnatural pace down and heed the biological imperative. I think you find life so much more pleasurable when you do slow down and allow yourself to be. You grow and develop at your own pace and stop forcing yourself to move faster than you were meant to. Some of the benefits are that you will see the details and flow of life, you will learn to forgive yourself when you make mistakes which will make problem solving easier, you will understand your movement and patterns better, you will get to know yourself in a new way, and things tend to become more clear. I think first you have to learn to have patience for yourself and then you will understand how to have patience for others. I am now starting to understand this and implement it in my life, it’s not easy, but it’s something I need to do.

6 thoughts on “I Was Remiss…I’d Forgotten About Patience…

  1. I just love your thoughtfulness and analytical mind! I agree, patience is very much underrated in this day and age. Frankly, I don’t believe in running to answer every telephone ring… and I go so far as to not return calls that don’t leave messages. I try not to put demands on other people that I would find taxing if the situation were reversed. I think sometimes people mistake patience for an inherent virtue when it’s a learned thing. Of course we’re all eager for the better part of our lives to begin.. but the better can’t start until we sow the seeds, right? 🙂

    • Thank you my friend, sometimes I feel like I go on for too long and I should edit it.

      I absolutely agree, we aren’t born patient. There is no such thing as a patient baby. They want what they want right away and they aren’t about to wait for it. Their cries will only get louder. As we grow we learn to be patient, and there are different ways of patience. Like we tolerate somethings, but maybe it bothers us. But then when you think about why you have to wait or the process you understand and can accept the time it takes to wait.

      I love that you brought our little seeds back to the conversation!!!! You are so right again, we will always be eager for the improved version of our lives, but we have to put in the effort first. But maybe the effort is also part of the greatness of ourselves. Now you’ve got me thinking again my friend.

  2. Happened to find your blog and this is a great post. I’m constantly running on fast forward and I need to slow down. It’s so hard to do though!

    • I totally agree. A lot of times it will take an entire lifestyle overhaul. And those are so difficult to accomplish. Sometimes you just have to do it piece by piece, and work towards it. It’s a good thing to commit yourself to.

      Thanks for stopping by 😀

  3. Aren’t things also almost always more rewarding when you have to wait for them a little?

    Thanks so much for the mention 🙂

    • I think anticipation is one of the best things you can do to make something sweeter. Working towards and waiting for that special moment makes it that much sweeter.

      Of course my friend. You locked in the fact that I would do a follow-up, in case I just got a bit lazy and wrote it off. Thank you for that 😀

Leave a Reply

