A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

The Charlie Brown Malaise…

6 Comments

Normally Black Friday is like a starting gun and I begin the Holiday race like a trained athlete. In fact I normally gift shop throughout the year, buying and putting aside gifts for loved ones. I typically sequester off sections of my bedroom so that these presents can have a comfortable stay before they are wrapped and given to their respective recipients. It’s something that I enjoy doing too.

However, this year I haven’t had the spirit to do so. Actually my shopping has been at a minimum this year. And my beloved Black Friday was mostly about running errands and getting a few bargains here and there, I think. At the end of the day I was exhausted, and down for the count. Luckily there were no issues in my day, but apparently there were robberies and shootings as well as some crazy lady with pepper spray. I am not sure when, but it has become a day of possible violence and there always seems to be some unfortunate stories of deaths and the astonishing way people treated each other. For this reason I try to stay away from Target (although I ran in and out to get an iPod), Wal-Mart and the mall. Costco and smaller stores are where I go as well as cyber shopping. It’s just not worth the trouble. Plus I love supporting smaller independent sellers, they are an important part of our community and should be treated that way. I am a huge fan of the idea of Small Business Saturday and love the fact that Amex gave me 25 bucks to do so.

In spite of all my mini sprees it hasn’t really felt much like Christmas for me. I haven’t even decorated. I don’t know why, it’s one of my favorite things to do, make my home festive and cozy. Point of fact, I own ,and have been known to wear, an elf hat. Alas the hat is out but I have yet to take out the remaining decorations, again I am not sure why I haven’t had the Christmas spirit visit me just yet. I am not full of humbuggery, but not full of holiday glee either. I wonder if I have a bit of the Charlie Brown Christmas dysfunction…

It may be some sort of seasonal melancholy. I am sure it didn’t help that I’ve been watching movies that are both winsome and dealt with liminality (Spirited Away and The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya). And listening to wistful music (Erik Satie’s Gymnopédie No. 1). It has also been pointed out to me that I have been sighing a great deal too lately. *Sigh*

6 thoughts on “The Charlie Brown Malaise…

  1. Aww. *sighs with you* I get the Christmas malaise every year but try to keep it under wraps for the sake of other people who cheerfully celebrate. The only reason I don’t feel blue is because of my upcoming trip.

    Perhaps it’s a bit delayed this year. I hope you put on that elf hat and let the inner elf out eventually. *hugs*

    • I think the elf hat may be just want Santa ordered. That and some cheery Christmas music.

      I think the trip is a fun idea, my friend just emailed me and said she’s going to Italy and then a cruise (but then she’s in Germany). She had a rough year so she really needs it. I think I just need a change too. The case of the Charlie Browns maybe endemic of something else.

  2. I get this every year. So far I’ve only got one present. But then again I do suck at shopping.

    That, and Christmas annoys me. That might be the biggest factor. Perhaps I should just try and enjoy it.

    • I normally like Christmas, but I don’t like the present politics. The way people try and interpret things from the gifts you send and the money you spent. I know I am guilty of that too. My friends and I normally set money limits, but I think that sums up what we’ve let the holidays become, a big commercial vacuum. Sucking the fun out of all of it. And I love shopping, but I think not as much as I used to.

      I was listening to the radio in my car yesterday and the DJ said that over a thousand years ago Christmas was not a time for revelry. It was more of a time for reflection and quiet contemplation. I think that’s part of what the season should be. It would make it that much better.

  3. I still can’t believe Christmas is this weekend! My sister hasn’t even decorated her house yet. I think it’s snuck up on most of us.

Leave a Reply

