A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

We Shall Overcome…

10 Comments

“But we refuse to believe that the bank of justice is bankrupt. We refuse to believe that there are insufficient funds in the great vaults of opportunity of this nation. And so, we’ve come to cash this check, a check that will give us upon demand the riches of freedom and the security of justice.”

Martin Luther King, Jr. “I Have A Dream Speech” August 28, 1963

Dear Friends,

Today was Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. Today is dedicated a great Civil Right Activist, but more than that a great man. He was instrumental in uniting people who understood the need for equality. While he had every right to be angry for all the injustice he and other minorities had to face, his dignified words held peace. His words stirred the hearts of people then and are still relevant today, sadly we have made progress legally but economically there are still barriers.  There are still a selection of the population that harbors prejudice within their hearts (within varying degrees) and others who unfortunately act on it. I have heard horrible stories from friend who have gone through that era. But I have also heard recent stories as well as experienced first hand prejudice, stereotyping, and discrimination. On this day let us not only remember Dr. King and what he stood for, but let it remind us that there is much work which still needs to be done.

Bill Stevenson said that, “In America, the opposite of poverty is justice.” When I heard this a light went on, and I understood his point. These issues stay utmost in my thoughts, and I struggle to grasp what I need to do to contribute. Although little by little I have been finding my footing. With so much economic woes and civil  unrest, I wonder what constructively we must be doing. Any thoughts?

I leave you with Dr. King’s “I Have A Dream Speech.”

Peace be with you my friends,

D…

 

10 thoughts on “We Shall Overcome…

  1. Do you know it took me two days to work out what MLK day was? I kept seeing on blogs, I am such an idiot.

    • You know, normally I say his whole name. The first time I heard it as initials I think I must have drawn a blank. After they explained I felt dumb. It was an out of context conversation. I’m not a gal who’s big on shortening things. Sometimes it feels disrespectful, although we do say JFK, and it is an airport. But you are not alone, and I am quite an admirer.

  2. Truly an amazing man. We studied his speech briefly in American lit last year and I yearn in my heart for someone like him to rise again in our age to unite people across all sorts of barriers. I suppose the lesson is that we should rise in his place every day in our own lives.

    Yes, we shall overcome.

    • There are a few people who I think give voice to human/civil rights advocacy, but no one really has become our figurehead. That’s what went wrong with that whole Occupy Wall street, they had a problem but they didn’t know the path to resolution. So they just sat there, and now our taxes has to pay millions to foot that bill. I think you’re right, we should unite and do what we can in our everyday lives, if we each did a little it would amount to a lot I believe.

      Absolutely, overcome we shall.

Leave a Reply

