A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Versatility and Creativity…

6 Comments

Every day seems to be a new challenge. It’s quite different from what I am used to but I think I am going to tap into my inner versatility and creativity. My dear friend Andy awarded me the Versatile Blogger and Kreative Blogger award last week. I am so sorry Andy it took me so long to acknowledge, but it has been something I wanted to post on, but didn’t seem to have the good spirit nor the opportunity to last week. Firstly, thank you so much for this/these awards, I believe it’s the first time I’ve received the Kreative Blogger Award.

Secondly, here are a couple of pictures of the awards, I think most of y’all have seen it before. But here we go just in case.

 

 

 

 

The next step is to list ten things about yourself. Now you know I want to make it a theme. So the theme this time is going to be ten soundtracks that I really enjoy. Ready…let’s start.

 

1. Singing in the Rain…every so often I like to go off into classical Hollywood musical. It’s totally unrealistic and why shouldn’t life have it’s unrealistic moments. No? It cheers me up when I feel a bit glum and I want to shake it. Plus I love the idea of a bit of California dew. And now I want to take up tap… 

2. An American in Paris…if you’re going to go with Gene Kelley classics you have to make mention of this movie. I think most people know the songs, but may not know where it’s from. Songs like “I Got Rhythm”,  “S’wonderful” and “Our Love is Here to Stay”.  But one of my favorites is the orchestral eponymous score, there’s a beautiful velvety quality to it. It gives the movie a dark romantic undertone. And now I need to pick up ballet slippers…

3. Chicago, now I am not talking about the movie, I’m thinking of the broadway version. First, we must pay respect to how physically demanding it is to one dance through your performance (intense muscle control) and two to sing and deliver lines at the same time.  All while keeping your energy up. It puts an endearing spin on prohibition and makes me want to sing.

4. I can’t help myself at this point. Cats reminds me of my childhood in New York. That show played forever on Broadway. My favorite part is the crescendo when Grizabella sings out “…Touch me, it’s so easy to leave me.” It’s one of those sounds I could never remove from my memory.

5. Last musical…Cabaret, I was thinking of A Chorus Line or perhaps Evita (I loved the Patti Lupone Mandy Patinkin version). But it’s Joel Grey, come on. It’s a bit queer but amusing in it’s own bizarre way. Every so often I find myself singing “…im Cabaret, au Cabaret, to Cabaret.”

6. So what about non-musical selections you say. I am on the hunt for the soundtrack for Ascenseur pour l’échafaud. Miles Davis is one of my all time favorite and to me he is at  his smokey sultry best for this movie.

7. Garden State…it’s one of those soundtracks that I can just sit and listen to a few times. It’s so eclectic. Zach Braff did a great job picking out these songs. It’s like the perfect Saturday bike ride playlist.

8. The Big Chill…it’s just a great collection of music from the sixties.

9. Pretty in Pink…eighties classic.  I think just for Jon Cryer’s rendition of Otis Redding’s “Try a Little Tenderness.” And of course the Psych Furs. This was hard when I was thinking about “Say Anything”, “Sixteen Candles”, and “The Breakfast Club.”

10. This was hard, how do end this list when there are so many you know you’ve missed. Knowing this I then began to rue the moment I thought to do this list. So rip it off like a band-aid, I’m going to go with the “Kill Bill” soundtrack. It’s nutty selection of music.

Now to pass the awards on. I’m actually going to pass it on to just four:

I’m new to these blogs but I’ve been enjoying them for their own unique content.

 

6 thoughts on “Versatility and Creativity…

  1. No problem! your award is well deserved! 🙂

  2. Oh, thank you so much!! I was just having a quick catch-up of your wonderful blog, and so surprised and pleased to see my name up there! Thank you D! 🙂
    I love the music too by the way! x

    • I’m so glad to put you on that list my dear. I think the best part of blogging are the fantastic people that I’ve met. They’ve all been such great friends. I always think of these awards as a way to introduce your new friends to your “old” friends.

      I’m glad you loved the music. It was fun to go through.

Leave a Reply

