A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

In My Neighborhood…

24 Comments

I finally got a new camera back in December and have been tinkering with it. The problem, or rather one of the problems, is that I have not really been taking too many pictures. Just a here and there, every so often. I think I feel a bit of a tourist taking pictures, there is a stereotype of Asian tourists visiting NY, LA, Las Vegas…etc. and taking a lot of pictures. I think people here used to feel that it was a bit strange to drag out your camera to capture an image that was otherwise be considered banal. But I am trying to overcome that ridiculous notion and take more pictures.

At first I would wait for moments when there wasn’t anyone around to see me in action. Exhibit A…

I am not quite sure what that red-winged object was, but I just liked the name A to Z Mart.

 

Then a few days later I was sitting in my car at the red light waiting. I looked over and thought that the landscape looked pretty. So I snuck out my camera and click.

Here is the landscape with its original colors.

Then I got a little photo edit happy and messed with the color of another shot.

 

Feeling my Wheaties I found and stalked a squirrel a week later. But he got the better of me.

At first he just plays with the nut he finds.

Then he decided he wanted none of me and made his getaway.

 

Over the weekend I went for some dim sum and noodles, it was New Years Eve after all. While waiting for my take out I noticed how pretty they had decorated the dining area. I realized there was a wedding reception to take place in a few hours. There was only one other set of customers so tried to look nonchalant as I surreptitiously took out my camera.

I did play with the color a bit and blurred the edges a bit.

And today while at the bank I decided to play with the fish eye feature of my little Olympus. (Claps hands and says, “Go little cheap camera!!!”)

I really can't help myself, I think I like playing with the after effects way too much.

It's a hamburger dive, I think the owner really likes to decorate their joint.

Now that I think about it, this actually turned out to be a photo journal of the month of January.

24 thoughts on “In My Neighborhood…

  1. Great pictures! love the diversity of your camera choices πŸ™‚

  2. Photo editing does wonders lol! I use a couple of iPad and Iphone apps to clean up my pictures πŸ™‚

    • My camera came with some and my iMac had some, I also have photoshop. I kind of think I have too much stuff. I’m out of control Andy, out of control!!!

      • All i have is a point and shoot camera, which ruined my shots of my daughter’s parade this past weekend and a Sony camcorder that records HD but takes pictures at only 4.0MP. So tempted to use my line of credit to buy a DSLR lol! I’m an impulsive shopper! by the way, I recommend Snapseed and Dynamic light for photos. It’s what I use for editing etc πŸ™‚

      • I only have a point and shoot too. I was going to get a DSLR, but I am such a novice that I didn’t think it would be a good idea right now. I can be, but I’ve learned to calm my shopping inner self down. Maybe when I get better I will invest in one. Who knows.

        OK, I’m going to look into Snapseed and Dynamic light. It’s getting fun, huh?

  3. I think it’s more common now to see people randomly taking pictures than it was a few years ago. Have fun taking more! πŸ˜€

    • I think you’re right, I’ve got to get over it really. I did notice some folks looking at me like I’m a bit nuts, but oh well. Nothing new…I suppose.

      I think you’re right, the thing I have to remember is to have fun.

  4. I know what you mean about feeling awkward snapping random pictures, but sometimes you just have to ignore people adn do what you want…besides, they don’t know you anyway! Lol…Nice pics!

    • Thanks so much Kelli, you’ve made a great point. I think I just have to do it more often so I can become used to taking pictures and get better at it.

      Thanks for the compliment too, it’s really encouraging.

  5. You know what? I think you’ve got quite the makings of a fabulous, albeit sneaky (!) photog!! Congrats on the new camera and as to the features, they’re there for a reason: they’re meant to be used, so have fun with them! As to feeling weird taking a camera out, I know the feeling; I used to do everything I could to hide the fact that I was taking pictures when I went about town, exploring new beauty offerings. Now? I don’t give a rat’s behind! I figure that even if people stare at me, I’ll be forgotten a second later – in the meantime, I get my shot! See how it all works out?!!

    • It’s my sneak attack. I am working on getting over this ridiculous nonsense of feeling conspicuous when taking photos. I think your attitude is perfect. Go in and get the shot that you need, let other people think what they want it shouldn’t matter to me. OK, I’m going to work on adopting that kind of thinking. I’ll need a mantra of some sort…not sure what though.

  6. I like playing about with colours, enjoy!

  7. Oooh, fish eye view! I don’t have that setting. *jealous*

    I can tell you’re having so much fun! I was also embarrassed to be caught taking pictures last year at inane places like the subway, but you learn to shrug that off eventually. Can’t wait to see more of your shots as you get more familiar with the settings and find your inner photographer!

    • Hehe, that’s one of the reasons I go the camera. It was super cheap and had all these fun filters. I figured I could play to my hearts content. I think after I plan out my lessons I’ll have to treat myself to a picture stroll. I think you’re right with time it won’t bother me at all. I’ll be a picture warrior like our friend Eugenia.
      Yay Liz, I hope I can find my inner photographer!!!!

  8. Great photos, love the randomness of them all!
    And I completely share your ‘photo edit happy’-ness, I’m addicted! πŸ™‚

    • If it’s one thing I am, it’s random. And apparently addicted to photo editing. They just give us so many choices on how to alter them. That’s why we’re addicted, but I don’t think there’s a support group for the eager editor. I wonder if there should be.

  9. I feel the same anxiety when I take photos, I just wrote a post about the same exact thing last week. It feels so touristy. (To which I got in response “Who exactly are these people giving you such nasty looks?”) And so I started using my iphone to be sneaky (like it restaurants and in public taking photos of mundane things) and my husbands SLR whenever I can. Glad I’m not alone, although we both need to get over it! πŸ™‚

    • I think we’ll both get over it best by just taking the pictures. I’ve already talked myself into do it more often and also gave myself a pep talk that it really doesn’t matter what people think. I think as long as I am not taking a photo of them it doesn’t really concern them.

Leave a Reply

