A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Today’s Journey…

7 Comments

Lately I’ve been a bit busy and feeling a bit run down, trying to stay healthy and fighting off a cold. That is the inevitable risk one takes when working with kids, cootie infestation. Thankfully I am pretty healthy and have managed to not really get too sick, but just a mild version of a cold seemed to try to take hold. So I fight on, the current score is Danielle – 1 Kiddie Cootie – 0.

But being run down from a variety of stresses has made me feel that today should be a lazy day. I have got a long weekend, since the kiddies have a long weekend. I was in need of a replacement bulb for my headlight and decided to take a bit of a constitutional. The crisp wintry air was refreshing as I walked against the brisk winds. My scarf flew around as the thought came to me that I should have worn a thicker sweater. It may sound strange, but I enjoy these sort of cloudy almost gloomy days. With their promise of rain the dark clouds break up the onslaught of seemingly perennial summer days. For me it’s a welcome change of pace.

It inspired me to take out my little Olympus, whom I think I should name Ollie, and snap away. This time I went with the pinhole setting. I think they came out pretty well. I went with a slide show and a gallery display. Let me know what you think.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 thoughts on “Today’s Journey…

  1. Olympus took the pictures? Nice!! 🙂

    • Thanks so much for the compliment. Yup, my little inexpensive Olympus. I’m pretty happy with the results. And looking forward to taking more. Getting over that odd feeling of being watched by others.

  2. Awww, Ollie! Love the pics, D. I’m fighting a cold too and have been feeling a little run down, but I’m determined to fight everything off. TODAY IS GOING TO BE A GOOD DAY.

    Hope next week will be better for you! xx

    • Lot’s of OJ, chicken soup, and other good for you fluids. I hope your day was good.

      I hope both our weeks will be good. It’s going to be slower this week I hope so it will be good. At least that’s my hope.

  3. These are incredible! You have quite the discerning eye, and I love seeing how your skills are progressing! Now, as to your cold and how to protect yourself for the future, go to a health food store and pick up some good quality probiotics (or just indulge in tons of plain Greek yogurt), then pick up some ginger root (if you don’t already have it on hand), grate anywhere between 1 tsp – 1 tbsp (you can inlude the peel as well), pour some boiling water over it, let it steep for about 3 minutes, strain into your favourite mug & enjoy! You could add honey if you want to sweeten it, else, I love drinking it straight. You can have as many cups of this ginger tea a day as you wish! Ginger has natural antibacterial properties and is a potent cold fighter; it can help loosen any clogs as well: nasal, throat, etc. and I swear that it cuts the duration of a cold by at least half. Plus, it’s so good for you! Feel better soon, my friend!

    • Thanks so much for the compliment. I really enjoy taking them. I am so glad I’ve started doing it too, it’s been a fun creative outlet.

      I’ve actually been feeling really well the last couple of days. I think my body fought off most of it. Thank goodness I’ve been eating my veggies. I tend to be able to heal and fight things off pretty quickly. I think it’s harder when you are stressed though. I didn’t know that yogurt could help strengthen my immune system. I never really thought about it. But it stands to reason that if your body is healthy all over that you would be healthy. I love ginger tea. I do that all the time, just because I love ginger. I’m making a navy bean soup and some brisket for dinner, but now I wish I was making a ginger dish. Like sliced ginger with beef and bok choy. Doesn’t that sound tempting? A bit of rice and some pot stickers. Yummy affordable dinner. I guess that may be on the menu tomorrow.

  4. Pingback: The Little Things… « A Happy Peach

Leave a Reply

