A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Whilst waiting for a break in the rain…

29 Comments

Photo taken with pinhole setting

Today it finally rained. The sky seemed to have been toying with us, promising rain since this weekend, but not squeezing out a drop. Just when I thought it was all a big tease I awoke to rain. I was excited to see the rain, but a bit irked that I had to drive to work in it. Ah well, sometimes the weather is like that.

I left early, just to make sure I would make it there on time. While weather was taunting me, traffic was not. I arrived early. I decided to wait a bit in my car before trekking my way through puddles to get to my classroom. Listening to the radio I looked up and out the window of my car. Right in front there was this really pretty flower playing in the rain. Peering out from my Β windshield I thought how pretty it all looked through the drops of rain. So I took out my camera and took a few pictures.

For some reason the fish eye feature made me think of a snowglobe with these pictures. Does it make you think of anything in particular.

This makes me think of an evergreen, but it also makes me a bit dizzy.

Anyone know what type of tree this is?

 

29 thoughts on “Whilst waiting for a break in the rain…

  1. Beautiful pictures….!!

    • Thanks so much my friend. I was glad I had my camera today. With the rain the kids were so fussy. One little boy missed his Mommy and was starting to cry. I cheered him up a bit and we ended up taking pictures the last few minutes of class.

      • It’s amazing how quickly things get better when they are engaged on doing something huh? πŸ™‚

      • It’s a war of distractions. It’s funny the bunch I have don’t like being read to. Usually they like when I make games and toys out of the work. They were really disruptive today. The little boy who was fussy had just come back from a week and a half vacation. It was hard for him to get back into routine I guess.

  2. He’ll get back in the routine once he accepts that his vacation is over, maybe you can try having them read certain passages in the books. Keeps them engaged πŸ˜‰

    • It’s a lot of factors with this bunch. I do have them take turns reading, but some days are off days. I think that was today. I tend to take my lessons and reformat them with some paper gadgets. Sort of like games. This tends to bring them more into the lesson and gets them thinking but they’re more focused on the play aspect of it. I get these wonderful little moments where they just blurt out Oh, it’s making a sentence or a word or whatever. They get it and they want to play with it more. Honestly I end up spending hours trying to figure it out for them. It’s a lot of work for me, but I figure there must be a good that comes out of it.

  3. Lovely tree! I hope the rain stopped πŸ™‚

    • It is a lovely little tree isn’t it? The rain is gone. I like the rain when I’m home, just not when I’m driving. It’s really windy right now.

  4. So pretty! I want to be there. Everything here is dead. 😦

    • Come on down. It’s pretty green even in the “winter” here. But spring is just around the corner for you, so in a matter of weeks your part of the world will be blooming.

  5. I guess in this day and age, kids don’t appreciate reading as much anymore so long as there’s tv to watch and movies huh?

    • I think it depends on the kid. One of my kids loved to take the books home while another loved to read spanish books. I think we also have to consider the home environment. A lot are not supportive of learning process.

      • Yup supportive methods for sure, spanish huh? lucky for the lil one you can speak quite well πŸ™‚

      • She speaks english, but has problems reading in english. So I try not to speak in spanish, because that will make it harder for her to focus on english. She’s actually doing really well. I told her if she can read in spanish she can read in english. I figure my job is make the environment as supportive as possible for her to learn and not feel embarrassed to try. As long as she keeps trying, she will learn.
        My Mom said that I should spend a few months in a spanish speaking country and I will pick it up naturally. I think my tias would love that. You know one is an actual spanish teacher.

  6. Neat! that’s awesome that you have a Tia who teaches! I’m actually wondering if I should take a course in business spanish, I’m so rusty now it’s not funny. Also, legal translators make pretty decent wages πŸ™‚

    • Well she’s retired right now. But she even got her masters in it. Actually there are a few family members who are teachers.

      You should, I’m sure it would only take a few classes. Like riding a bike. Translators do make a good deal of money and you could do it freelance while you go to school.

      • I didn’t know about the freelance part so now that I do? It’s even more tempting! πŸ™‚ so how have you been? all good?

      • Freelance is good and bad. I would say go with an agency, or find a few regular clients. Freelance is always best when you can make it work for you and your schedule.

        I am pooped. I just finished dinner and am now wondering what I should do. Hmm….

  7. So many options on what to do, just remember that you still need to relax! πŸ˜€

  8. Just discovered your blog. Was browsing and reading, and discovered these lovely pictures. Did you ever find out what kind of tree that is? Would be nice to see a close-up of the flowers. I like the pinhole version best; has an old-fashioned quality about it.

    • Thanks for stopping by Chris. I never did find out what those trees were, I don’t know who I could ask on the campus. We have so many trees all over Southern California that I don’t know what many of them are and landscapers can be so indiscriminate. I love the pinhole setting a lot on my camera, it can make the shot so interesting. As long as I can get the shot with less of those rings showing. I’m still learning to take pictures, I should make time tomorrow to take a walk and take some photos too.

Leave a Reply

