A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

The Bean and I…

Leave a comment

Dear Friends, one good change can lead into another. Lately I’ve been determined to adjust my diet to include more veggies. I then, in turn, began to decrease the percentage of less healthy foods. It’s really changed the way I eat, now my body seems to crave veggies. It’s good for proper weight maintenance, healthy skin, as well as helpful to all the little parts housed within your body. I think it’s good for overall health and also lead to a better outlook on things.

One of the subjects I’ve been playing with are green beans. I’ve got three ideas and a one tip for you. First the tip. It’s important to cook your green bean properly. If the green bean is undercooked, not only will it taste funny but it may have too much lectin in it. Ingesting too much lectin can be bad for you. It is also important that you don’t overcook it, then it will be too mushy.  The way I usually cook it is in either the microwave for a few minutes with a couple of teaspoons of water to steam or on the stove in a pot, again with a couple of teaspoons of water. The cooking time will depend on the beans, if they’re frozen or fresh, etc.

Now, onto my recipe ideas. First the basic Green Bean Vinaigrette “Salad”.

  • I cook the beans. When they reach my desired doneness I remove it from the heat, drain the excess water into a cup, and leave uncovered.
  • While I am cooking the beans I mix together the vinaigrette. It’s really basic, I mix together:
    • Balsamic Vinegar (I eyeball it, but it’s usually a one-to-one ratio with the olive oil, meaning if I put in a tablespoon of olive oil then I put in a tablespoon of vinegar)
    • Olive Oil
    • Salt
    • Pepper
    • Garlic Powder
    • Any other seasonings you may fancy (sometimes I put in Lawry’s Salt)
  • After I’ve mixed the dressing together, I taste to see what it needs. You may want to add a teaspoon of the green bean water to help emulsify the dressing. I then dress the warm beans.
  • For a finishing touch I add some grated parmesan cheese. You can add any cheese you like, I think asiago cheese would also be a great choice.

Want to up the anti? I did, here’s what I did:

  • I seasoned and sautéed shrimps in a skillet, quickly cooking them over medium high heat with olive oil. I remove after they’ve been cooked so you don’t overcook them.
  • In the same pan I sauteed some mushrooms. The mushrooms release water and deglaze the fond off the pan.
  • I also add some arugula and quickly render them (just when they start to go limp).
  • I mix all the ingredients together. Don’t forget to add the juice that the cooked shrimp has released, there is a lot of flavor there. And then mix with the Green Bean Vinaigrette “Salad”.

My next idea is something that I am still playing with. I’ve thought to make a tempura type batter, but to mix in miso paste into the batter. Sprinkle on some crushed seasoned nori and fry. I think I would need to parboil the beans before I do. It’s just an idea right now, so I am not sure how it’s going to turn out. Any thoughts?

These recipes are relatively easy and the outcome pretty tasty, while still healthy. Although the fried one may not be as healthy.  Do they sound good to you? What do you do with your beans?

Eat well my friends, D….

 

Leave a Reply

