A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Mercy, Mercy, Mercy…

20 Comments

I’ve been meaning to write a blurb of a post to declare that I have am still around, alive and kicking, if barely. Β I have been dealing with a stressful personal situation this last month and have not had a chance to blog, the details of which I think it’s best not to go into. I have not had a chance to do much of anything really. I am hoping that all things will begin to improve soon, I remain, or at least try to remain optimistic.

But remaining optimistic in the face of any adversity seems like a challenge. There are times when you can feel exhausted, frustrated, and just depleted. Those times you just feel like crying miserably, but when you’re done crying you still have to get back to getting on with it. So during those moments when I feel like I am at a loss at what I can and should do, I tend to remember this song from Cannon Ball Adderly and the intro to it. The intro goes a little something like this:

You know sometimes we are not prepared for adversity. When it happens sometimes we’re caught short. We don’t know exactly how to handle it when it comes up. Sometimes we don’t know just what to do when adversity takes over.

And I have advice for all of us, I got it from my pianist Joe Zawinul who wrote this tune, and it sounds like what you’re supposed to say when you have that kind of problem it’s called mercy, mercy, mercy.

The song reminds me that sometimes things won’t lay the way I want it to, but I can only do my best and make peace with that. Hopefully, this too shall pass.

20 thoughts on “Mercy, Mercy, Mercy…

  1. Hopefully it will pass SOON!

    I’ve been meaning to pick up our email chats again but needed a break and not talk about the downer stuff for a while, ya know? I’m glad to see you back in action here though. I’m so sad that more than a few of us are going through such tough times but I’ll take my cue from you and keep on fighting. Today was a downer day but we can all use a day of sulking and crying if need be.

    Miss you, friend! I do wish so badly we can watch those awesome movies and shows together.

    • I miss you too. I know, our emails shouldn’t be too much downer or too sad or anything like that. We should talk about silly and good stuff too. Like the thought that I should get out of the house more, then maybe I can run into Jeremy Renner. I bet he’s out there.
      It just happened one day and it was just something that took all my time. Why does it seem like we’re getting sucked into a lot of these not so great times. We just gotta keep on swimming and get to the other side. It’ll all be good when we reach the other side. That’s what I keep telling myself.

  2. Remember D, I will always be here for you if you ever need anything. Welcome back πŸ™‚

  3. Welcome Back D. Hope all is better now πŸ™‚

  4. I hope everything words out for you!

  5. It’s so good to see you blogging again. Like really good. Like really really good. Like super awesome.

    And you brought jazz as well. Just gets better.

    If it helps, here’s some amazing words from Conan O’Brien (who I pretty much love right now) :

    Nobody in life gets exactly what they thought they were going to get. But if you work really hard and you’re kind, amazing things will happen. I’m telling you, amazing things will happen. I’m telling you, it’s just true!

    Hope everything gets better for you. You’ve got the attitude for it.

    • I’m trying, my time isn’t my own right now, so it’s hard. I’m hoping it will all get easier.
      I think jazz/music, is one of those things that help me mend my frazzled soul.
      I love Conan, and that really is an awesome quote. It’s really helping me to see that while it’s a bit of a setback, but it’s something that we can work on for it to get better.

  6. Whatever it is D. We are all here with you πŸ˜€

  7. Danny, it’s a good sign when a person going through personal strife, takes the time to leave even a short message like you’ve done here – good to have you back, my friend.
    Everyone at some point in their life goes through a crisis, but what you need to focus on and remember, is that time really does not stand still for anyone and that you still have to get up in the morning and take care of things. The result, is that you wake up one day and realize that the crisis has passed and that you can start fresh – my point is that this too shall pass (even if I don’t know the details of what you’re experiencing) and your inner strength will not only have sustained you, but help you to emerge stronger & wiser as a result of having to go through negative stuff. You have support, if the comments here are anything to go by, so take heart from all the love and positive vibes being given – I believe in you! xox

    • Thanks Eugenia for your wonderful words. I am making my way through this crisis and just trying to keep positive. I know it was sort of a cryptic post, but putting all the personal stuff on a post felt a bit uncomfortable.
      I will just be happier when things are better, but I am trying to learn whatever lesson there is for me to learn and come out a better person. The people whom I’ve met through blogging are certainly a fantastic pillar of support.

Leave a Reply

