A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Fingertips As A Display Of Emotion…

8 Comments

I have always been a lover of nail polish. It is an easy way to show your affection for a color by displaying them on your fingernails. Your choice often reflects how you are feeling, both about yourself and the things that are happening in your life. Sometimes I pick a cheery color for a bit of an emotional booster, much like color therapy. Lately I find myself of two “minds”. I long for cheery happy times, and find myself picking up perky bright colors.  But all too many times I tend to put down the happy little bottle only to pick up the more subdued color.  Such is my dilemma, I present a few choices that are just glaring at me whilst I type. Please note that there is a slew of other options grumbling in their respective containers.

For the record, this isn’t a nail polish review as I have not sat down and plotted out what the criteria for that would be. This is just an informal collage of some polishes accompanied by an ineffective blurb.

For the perky bright team…

It has felt like summer since May, and what scream summer in an all too enthusiastic voice but pops of color. Face Stockholm seems to contain mostly solid nail polish formulas with the errant dud. The top color is Top Ten from the J. Crew Face Stockholm set from last year. It’s an extremely bright pink, although it reads with a bit of red-orange tinge to its pinkness. The second from the top (left hand side) Face Stockholm color is called Bermuda Pink, it’s an extremely blue pink. Next to it is this Banana Republic color called Hint of Lilac, it’s the most lilac color that I have, and am not sure that I am going to keep it. I can’t remember what the other Banana Republic polish is called, as it is no longer in my possession. It looked a little too similar to Sally Hansen’s Mint Sorbet to keep. The middle polish on the bottom row is from the Tracy Reese collection for Sally Hansen, it’s called Temptation. I have a few colors that are close but not exactly the same. Deborah Lippmann’s Girl’s Just Wanna Have Fun is a bit more orange, but both have the same wattage. And both apply very well. Lastly is the dud from Face Stockholm. It’s a called Arranciata, my guess from the Italian soda. It’s a pretty interesting color yellow-orange, bordering on lurid and neon-esque.  As difficult a time I am having describing it, I would say that the challenge/problem(s) of application is tenfold.  In short it’s a pain to apply, streaky and uneven. I have noticed it dries matte, which tends to compliment brights, but if I can’t get the application right why bother. I gave up after four coats. You can’t say I didn’t try. I may try again with a different base coat, the Orly just may not agree with the formula. In the mean time I am a woman agitated by this formula.

For the understated gal…

RGB Beach(left) and RGB T3 Nail Tint (right) 

I must confess, I can’t help myself, I am a nude-aholic. I naturally gravitate towards these natural colors, once in my little hands my eyes fixate on them (maybe even pop out) and I may even start muttering the word “precious”.’ Given my devotion to this type of color is it any doubt that when dipping my toe into a new brand I tend to go for a nude or two. I recently tried the eco-friendly line RGB and have found two of my new loves.  There is just something that is so subdued and perfect about each of these colors. The two above are Beach and T3 (which is a tint). Beach applies lovely with a base coat, after one coat it’s a nude and understated with slight visible nail line. I don’t mind my nail line showing at all, it makes me want to wear my starfish necklace and a beachy sweater.  Absolute summer sophistication. T3 is a bit sheer, but it is meant to be. It is darker than my skin tone, but I really liked the effect.

In the end…

The problem remains which one to use.  I normally split the difference with either a peppy pedicure and a subdued manicure or vice versa. Everyone wins, and the way I change polish allows for more happiness.

 

8 thoughts on “Fingertips As A Display Of Emotion…

  1. I love all of these! But it’s too bad about that Face Stockholm one because it is juicy and vibrant. I know what you mean about wanting to reach for the brights only to pick the somber hues to reflect your mood. My fingernails have been naked for a couple of weeks, actually, because I just couldn’t even deal with applying anything at all. Hopefully that’s going to be repaired this weekend now that I can breathe a bit. Hoping that you can take some time to bounce back from all that’s been going on. *hugs*

    • I’ve been trying to take little breaks where I can. In fact I am going to try and take a little time tonight. I hope you’re doing well too.

      Also I’m glad you liked the colors. I have some things, but I wanted to go and find something fun and silly that you might like.

  2. Danny, I really love your groupings; I’ve never tried Face Stockholm before but it’s too bad there were so many application issues…good riddance, I say! I don’t even know if I’ve even seen nail polish sold at Banana Republic, but both shades are pretty! That Sally Hansen is just gorgeous; looks like a cross between CHANEL’s ‘Holiday’ and ‘Distraction’ – and that just seems so summer to me!
    Now as to the nudes, I see what you mean when you recently told about the RGB lacquers you picked up: love them, especially Beach! Seeing as how I’m a total “beach bunny”, you just know I’ll have to add that to my collection, right? Now…as to what to wear, the way I see it, you have a few choices but if you’re still torn between bright and/or subdued, why not do either bright on toes with nude on fingers (or vice versa) or choose a shade and do an accent finger/toe in another? This way you can get to wear more than one colour and/or group at the same time!

    • Oh Eugenia I am so pleased you enjoyed my color collage. To be fair, it was one out of five that I own, so that’s still not too bad. I think there’s just something difficult for neon application/formulation. It’s hard to get that right. But it sits in the corner. I was wondering if I put a white base or a nude nail polish as a base, perhaps it will be better.
      The Sally Hansen does reach into the realm of those gorgeous Chanel colors, and the application is a bit thicker but pretty good. It was my first try for that line of the brand. I’m curious now, I saw the previews for the next collaborations and I just thought they were lovely.
      You are such a lovely beach bunny!!!! They have some fabulous choices. I think the formulation on them is quite good. I am definitely going to try more. I think they’ll have a sale for the fourth. They do lots of promos and free shipping. It is so worth it. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts when you do give it a go.
      I’m going natural on tips and this odd nude, but not nude color on toes. It’s from American Apparel, called Palm Beach. It looks pretty, especially with the growing tan.

  3. oh, good post but im sadly not the girl to wear nail polishes and all. 😦 weird right.

    • You don’t like wearing it, or it’s for another reason. Either way I’m a little bit sad, but it’s not the end of the world.

      • lol I don’t like to wear it. Plus it’s also a religious reason. However, when i put nailpolish i feel my hands are heavy. lol..weird i know. But alot of my friends wear it and their nails look fab. they do this designing too.

      • Actually I thought it may have been a little of both. It’s not really that great for the health of your nails, but it’s fun to play with.
        I understand what you mean about heavy, like there is something there that seems funny. Especially if you’re a natural beauty, these sort of things may seem weird. But for me it’s all in good fun. And it sure is pretty to watch.

Leave a Reply

