A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Happy Fourth of July!!!!

8 Comments

I know not everyone celebrates it, but it’s a good old American tradition. I’m looking forward to the steaks, ribs, my newly perfected potato salad (I used to hate potato salad till I tried incorporating some Japanese techniques), and corn on the cob. Man it’s all about the food for me, isn’t it. I guess I can’t help it, it’s how I hallmark things.

But I’m looking forward to some firecrackers, which are illegal in my city, but you can view so many displays from my house. I can see the Disney show. In fact I remember while I was going for my Masters, a couple of years ago, I had a final due on the Fourth of July. I know, right? Well, my internet connection kind of stunk and I had to drive to my office to upload the file. It was pretty nice to have the fireworks shows keep me company.

As today is a day for celebrating our country, and I know that a lot of people outside of the U.S. don’t share the sentiment (but the best part is that we’re free to think and feel however, so God bless America), I thought John Cougar Melloncamp’s Pink Houses is fitting.

FYI, I am not necessarily an overly patriotic person, but I do appreciate the freedom that we’ve been afforded. So wherever you are, I hope you have a lovely day.

8 thoughts on “Happy Fourth of July!!!!

  1. Have a nice day too 🙂

  2. I hope you had a great day!

    • I didn’t get to see much fireworks. I was busy doing chores. Isn’t that daily life stuff though, being a grown up isn’t so much fun sometimes.

  3. My goodness, what kind of sadistic professor assigns a paper over the greatest national holiday?

    RIBS AND CORN ON THE COB. Drooling! It sounds like you had a great holiday. Hope you got to take some time to rest and enjoy the festivities. 🙂

    • I think it was a teacher who was not from here. But I think it was a big final that he gave us about a week to complete. But the questions were really hard, like create a case study and report was just one question. And I think there were about six. I was working full time and so it took me all evening just to finish one question. Most of us were like that I think. If you want to create quality work, it takes a lot of time and effort.

      But back to the fun stuff. Ribs we saved for the next day as the steaks and filet mignon was crazy too much meat. I also had some lamb chops, but I ended up saving it for the next day too. I didn’t get too much chance to rest. I wish I did, or will soon. I’m operating on about four hours of sleep right now. I’m pretty useless I think…zzz….

  4. Happy (belated) America Day!

    As the country who gave the world the Grateful Dead, and Explosions in the Sky, you don’t have to feel bad about anything. You should feel awesome about yourselves. Like super mega brilliant awesome.

    • Yay, America Balls!!! I am not sure but I always think about America Balls and fireworks on the Fourth.

      Aw shucks, we feel OK about ourselves I think. I think we should add Miles Davis and John Coltrane to that list. Actually we have a lot of neat fun things like so many other countries, and then we have a lot of dumb things (the Kardashians and stuff like that)

Leave a Reply

