A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Things That Are Wizard…

4 Comments

From time to time ridiculous things that people have told me tends to bounce around in my head. One of the most ludicrous things was spat out by a 24-year-old boy (I call him a boy because of the way he chose to behave) when he uttered, “that’s before my time”. It was said to make anyone who was older than 24 feel past their expiration date. However it had a different effect on me, it lowered my opinion of him as a person. Perhaps it was said in jest, but it just made him look ignorant. I personally love things that predate me. As a teenager I loved music from the seventies and beyond. I often feel like people are so obsessed with creating something they think is new, when it really isn’t, and/or interesting, again many times missing the mark. When they bypass the foundation of something, that which gives us a leg to stand on.

So I’ve been thinking, if I could remind or in some cases introduce folks to something from our past that they might enjoy that would be a good thing, right? Hopefully I find something that you will find wizard…totally and entirely wizard. I think they’ll mostly be music posts, because that’s easier to present.

One of my favorite songs is from the Allman Brothers, Melissa, it’s has an interesting back story if you care to read. To me there is a very soulful quality to the song. I think that is something that helps make a song great, at least in my opinion. I hope you enjoy.

4 thoughts on “Things That Are Wizard…

  1. My boss once said to me that he had no interest in history — only in the present and future. It really diminished my view of him as the wisest know all too well that history repeats itself and we learn from the past. So it’s not just the “young’ins” but anyone with excess pride that tend to shoot their mouth off in ignorance. Lately I’ve been thinking back to the things that I used to say in my early twenties and really cringe. It was so easy to feel like I was on top of the world with it as my oyster, not knowing anything about what was really ahead.

    I’m glad you can solace in music. I go through spurts of listening to it non-stop and then not listening to anything for a while. Lately it’s mostly classical as it has no lyrics to shove extra words into my consciousness.

    • You are right, ignorance seems to have no age limit. I remember being 18 and telling a friend, who was 26, that I was wise. She laughed so hard at me. Now I laugh at me, what a dolt. But I suppose we all suffer from the arrogance of youth from time to time.

  2. The Allman Brother Bands are Wizard. Particularly with Live at the Filmore East. Love me some Whipping Post.

    In keeping with the post, youthfulness can lead to, lets call it silliness. But all things change. So there’s that.

Leave a Reply

