A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Destination: Recycling Bin…

2 Comments

 

Let’s face it we all have our little quirks→ idiosyncrasies→ compulsive behavior→ addictions (there was an evolutionary chain of thought going on there). In any event, one of my quirks is an extreme love of beauty products. A thing that seems to have started from a very young age, it’s one of my earliest memories, the desire to play with my Mommy’s lipstick, and remains one of the things that seems to take up an inordinate amount of my daydreams. This love-addiction can be trouble, both financially and spatially with regards to my bedroom, and in a more general sense the our ecosystem (just because the use of that much packaging can’t be good for environment).

My excessive acquisitions seem to come in waves, like many Americans I tend to buy things to cheer me up. Those things range from jewelry, clothes, make-up, electronics, and a variety of other toys (let’s face it junk) that I just don’t need. They give you a high for a moment but then the moments over and I was left wondering what I was thinking; thankfully there is such a thing as the return policy. So I made some changes in my life a few of years ago and analyzed my tendencies and thought about what I should do. One of the better ideas was to control my spending especially with beauty products, which wasn’t easy at first, but I’ve gotten pretty good at telling myself no. I give it a waiting period and then decide. The one caveat has been nail polish. I guess a girl can’t quit cold turkey. I have yet to actually finish a bottle, but still enjoy a varnish or two when a fit of weakness strikes.

The other good thing was that I built up the determination to mow through all that nonsense I bought. At first it was a bit of a pain to go through and figure out what to use first and not give in to the flippant desire to change to something else. I also changed a lot of my routine, my skin is so pampered now. It acts a bit fussy when I change, something that never used to happen before. And with the use of so many samples I have changed frequently.

My friend Liz encouraged me to post some of my empties, products that I’ve finished. I think it’s a great idea, it gives a person a sense of accomplishment, even if it may seem superficial to others. It also provides a bit of support to those trying to accomplish the same thing I think. I believe that one is supposed to describe the products and review a bit of what they liked and didn’t like. I’ll give it a go, but I don’t want to bore you with my rambling beauty thoughts. So I’ll try and keep it brief, try being the operative word…

Behold the things that are empty…

I think it’s best to do it in groups, so here goes:

Laneige

Laneige is a Korean company so it may be hard to get a hold of. But I am going to say that the beauty industry in Korea is no joke. I loved the system completely and entirely. I used  the following:

  1. Power Essential Skin Refiner_EX
  2. Balancing Emulsion 1_EX
  3. Water Bank Essence _EX
  4. Water Bank Cream 1_EX

I got this as a sample in Korea Town, and the lady put numbers on it so I could tell what do, since I don’t read (or speak for that matter) Korean. The first one is a toner and the second one balances out  your skin after the toner. I don’t know why other countries don’t offer this sort of skin care duo, it’s so fantastic.

Nivea

I had A Kiss of Honey and A Kiss of Smoothness. I love this, it’s really hydrating and great to put on before you fall asleep. A girl has to keep her lips nice and hydrated. The smell is not overpowering and it’s cheap. I love inexpensive things.

Korres

Using up the Guava Lip Butter is quite easy. I think I went through it in a matter of weeks. It’s almost completely clear and smells very yummy, but for the price it feels like you may be getting ripped off. It doesn’t tend to stay around for very long. I wonder if it was so yummy smelling I unknowingly nibbled it off. I have the mango and the pomegranate rolling around somewhere. I wasn’t so impressed, and to make matters worse they’ve increased the price. I like their products, but I don’t think I would force myself to repurchase it. Plus I’ve got a few other balms to make my way through.

Missha

Missha Strawberry Peel-off type mask. I am not certain what it did, but I did use it every other day. I think my skin really liked it, because it missed it when I didn’t do it. Like it would write it letters professing it’s love and asking when it’s going to come back sort of miss it, I kid I kid. But I don’t think that they’ve discontinued it :(.

Clarins

Clarin’s Multi-Active Skin Renewal Serum. I really liked this one, but it is really expensive. However, a little bit is all it takes, which means it may be worth the price as it may last a while.

Grass Roots

Vitamin C Power Brightening Cream SPF 25, I really liked this one. It was a very good moisturizer, smelled fresh like citrus and has sun block. All good things, once I go through all my moisturizers I would consider repurchasing.

Clinique

Clinique’s All About Eyes is alright. You get it in every free gift with purchase from Clinique. I can’t say anything bad about it, I don’t really have too much to say about it. It moisturizes the eye area…yup…no problems there…so…

Bosia

Boscia Recharging Night Moisture, it’s the one on the right which I just realized is twisted to the side. It’s a nice little moisturizer. No complaints, I really like the pump.

Neutrogena

Neutrogena Healthy Skin Enhancer is a nice tinted moisturizer. If you can find a shade that blends in well and you have good skin then it’s a good alternative. In the summer it gave off this pinkish gray cast and if by chance you sweat it looks white and weird, so when the season is right it is a decent choice. My confession is that funky summer cast made me annoyed so I pumped out the last few squirts in anger. I wanted it out of my life, I think I was annoyed that I had to take it off and start my routine over again.

Fresh

Fresh Soy Face Cream, I am not impressed with you. It was OK, but when my face was having a bout of sensitivity it ended up irritating it. So raspberries for that.

Chandelle 

Chandelle Essence B.B. Cream, I bought this a while back at a Japanese market. I admit I was lured in by the fact that it was made in Japan. But when I got it home I found I had to mix it with other products to make it work. At some point this annoyed me again, and the mini hulk returned. I squeezed it out with rage into the garbage.

I think that’s all of them. I don’t think I succeeded in keeping it short. Oh well…sorry about that.

2 thoughts on “Destination: Recycling Bin…

  1. Yay, you did it!!!

    I’m sad to hear about the Fresh Soy Cleanser – I have a sample of it that I was so looking forward to. Maybe it’ll work differently on me. *fingers crossed*

    And I’m just about convinced that Boscia doesn’t make a single bad product. I should just do a regimen from their oily/combination line…

    YAY EMPTIES!

    • I’ve been holding on to them till I could get a decent amount. I was so glad when I finished it. I am really excited about charging through and getting some more finished.

      It may have just been that it was a bad time for Fresh and my skin. I think my skin was used to this other brand and then when I switched it had a weird reaction. I hope it works better for you. What they say is true, just because it is all natural doesn’t mean it’s not strong.

      I think you are right about Boscia. I did have one of their face masks and it felt good after I got it off. But it did make my eyes water a lot, and it was no where near my eyes. So it is very concentrated. I may have been happy to get it off. Let us know if you do go the Boscia route.

      I think that skincare is the most important part of your beauty regiment, it’s the thing we go through the most (as supported by my empties). I mean I barely hit pan on blushes and eye shadows, but doggonit I am working on those.

      Yay Empties!!!!

Leave a Reply

