A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

Shaken and Stirred…

5 Comments

We’ve been having a lot of earthquakes here in Southern California recently, tectonic plates shifting and all.  Last night there was a slightly bigger one, no real damage, just a bit of shaking, and about 100 aftershocks. Growing up here you are used to them. They come every so often and a certain section of the population panicked. While the rest of us roll our eyes, no one died and while there is always some sort of damage, it’s nothing that can’t be fixed. It’s just part of living here. We joke that you should buy beach front property in Colorado, for when California does fall off into the ocean. 

I don’t remember the details, but I do recall there being an earthquake on the east coast. I don’t think they get that many so they may not know how to react. I read that some folks just walked out during it; which is a mistake. All those drills as kids taught us to duck and cover under our desks. Or go in a doorway, I don’t know if that’s still true. You basically don’t want to get hit should stuff be thrown around by the shaking. You want to stay safe, although I never got my earthquake kit ready. I really should, right? But we have plenty of water and food, although you should keep cash on hand. I have a bad habit of not keeping the stuff on me. Alright that goes on the list of things I need to fix. 

Hope your ground is stable. ♣

5 thoughts on “Shaken and Stirred…

Leave a Reply

