A Happy Peach

Things that make my heart smile…

The Lost Art of Cursive…

4 Comments

20140617-004455-2695288.jpg

I have heard that cursive is going to be obsolete. Which is quite sad, is that what happened to calligraphy? Maybe not, since calligraphy is a stylized way of writing. Maybe that is what will happen to cursive, it will be relegated to the font-o-philes who cherish all aspects of typography. I would be one of those special folks, I do enjoy typography as an art form. This post is making me think that I should take up calligraphy again.

There is something pretty about it, although my writing is not great (as evidenced by my chicken scratches above), but when done properly it is beautiful, dignified and elegant. I thinkĀ  it is quite special because there is something quite distinctive about each letter written. When I think about it, there is something so personal about handwriting and by extension handwritten notes. There is something wonderful reading a letter from a loved one. I tend to save them, it’s one of the sentimental things I can not bear to part with. I am not so sure that I would save a text as LOL doesn’t communicate real sentiment. Emoticons are cute and fun, but sometimes a thoughtfully jotted letter can make one’s day feel that much brighter. I wonder if there is a campaign to revive the handwritten letter, if so where can I sign.

4 thoughts on “The Lost Art of Cursive…

  1. I hope we can keep traditional handwriting and still practice calligraphy for a long time to come..! (crossing fingers)

    • It’s sad if it does become a lost part of history. They don’t teach it in school anymore. Apparently not for a long time. That’s depressing. Andy we belong to a different time…sort of.

Leave a Reply

